Update on Writing

Well, my previous post on writing out scripture has been lingering here for long enough.  Truth be told, I’ve not put the effort I planned into this.  But, that comes with life when you are the father of five.  There’s been enough sickness over the past month or so, along with visits from family.  So, I’ve not persevered like I planned.  I did, however, finish a book.

If you start down this path, I’d encourage you to select a short book, say an epistle.  I chose Colossians – short (4 chapters), but there’s plenty to notice as you stroll through.  And that is the benefit I’ve seen: you are forced to slow down, chunk through the text piece by piece, then write it yourself.  The one thing I would change is to write only on the left page, thus leaving the the facing page for notes, comments, etc.  There were several places where I had those “a-ha” moments, but I failed to note them.

As for the hardware, I’m a bit idiosyncratic, liking the same, or very similar pens (in output) for writing.  I keep one with me at all times.  So, I used that one, entering Colossians into a large lined Moleskine.  It lies flat well (something that I wish a Miquelrius Flexible would do better) and makes the input fairly easy.

Let me know if you try this, how it works for you.  I’d be interested at other’s insights here.  And I’ll see about snapping some pics later, but no promises there either.

Solo Deo Gloria,

jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Bible, Life, the Universe and Everything. Bookmark the permalink.