Promises, Promises

Well, for starters, I haven’t forgotten my promise to post a few pics of the caprines. Just haven’t made it out with the camera. Last night, it was tending to a stuck elder buck, while trying to reset a band on one of the younger’s horns. One is holding well, the second, not so well. Tonight, if the rain holds, I’ll try to snap a photo before I commence assaulting his poor head. One thing’s sure – this guy has some lungs!

But, thankfully, it’s looking like rain now. We’ve been very dry this year, so I won’t complain. Take it in stride, giving thanks for what we do have.

Solo Deo Gloria,
jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Goat. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Promises, Promises

  1. Victor says:

    Ahhh, goats. Aren’t they just adorable? Milking is always fun. We have some nubians and they give great milk, as that is the only want to make turkish coffee. It’s not true Turkish coffee without goat milk, and if you can get it fresh right out of the goat, even better! Nothing like fresh goats milk in a good cup of coffee. I have tried a brand of Turkish coffee from Kaffe Magnum Opus or KMO Coffee and it was superb! And the goats like the grounds after, they eat anything you know. Gives them a little goat buzz.

    • Gerald Newsom says:

      They won’t eat weeds, Victor! 🙂 Half the people I know (it seems) keep goats and every time I try to say something like, “Well, at least you don’t have to cut the grass in your field now that you have goats”, they come back with, “Oh yes, we do! These goats eat the grass but they won’t touch the weeds so we have to cut anyway.”

  2. Theo says:

    Jasonm, Living your life and taking care of yourself and others (and other living things) are what counts. So sometime we’ll look forward to the pictures and see if they match the ones you have already painted in our imaginations. Best, Theo

    • javajeb says:

      Thanks Theo. I’ve been quite busy with family and getting some preps done for the winter. New structures up for hay storage and critter shelter (in one pen) have kept my ‘free’ time occupied. I need to get a few photos of the goats and the project to post.

      Enjoy the coffee.

    • Gerald Newsom says:

      Theo, your name translates to “God” which made me wonder why you didn’t mention God as something that counts?

  3. Gerald Newsom says:

    Jason, it was Victor that was talking about the Turkish coffee. 🙂

    And now that I’ve given everyone a hard time, I do want to say I like the look and the idea of your goat shelters. I need a new type of shelter for my chickens and I think you’ve given me an idea or two. Thanks.

    • javajeb says:

      Thanks. I’m finishing up the last one soon. Need to then get them fully covered for the fall/winter. A small tarp is on one, and the goats did enjoy it yesterday as it rained. Just need more coverage for the weather.

Comments are closed.