Lately

Lately, life had been hot and busy.  Hot – it’s been one of the hottest summers on record in our little burg.  Multiple days over 100, hitting 108 last Saturday.  The garden was pretty well burned up, which means I need to re-evaluate my watering plans.

Other life on the little homestead is normal, despite the heat.  The new kid is big now, and has a lengthy set of horns.  Those are probably going to be coming off in the near future.  If you know anything about goats, the removal of the horns is usually done early, around 2 weeks old.  You can do it later with an elastrator on the horn, so we’re going to try it.  He’s a good buck and has a good blood line for milk production, but with the horns, he can’t stay.  To big a risk around the children to have a horned buck around.

On coffee, Burundi has been perplexing this year.  It’s gone from almost undrinkable (think Liberica if you caught that from SM’s a few years ago) in a French Press to sweet and even in a Chemex.  I haven’t had the notion to try it again in the press, however I should.  Other coffees: a Guatemala that I’ve yet to get roasted precisely, and a Brazil.  Brazilian coffees, for some unknown reason, do nothing for me.  They are nice, but overly bland and tame.

On Bible reading/study, I’ve come close to finishing up an interesting method of study called arcing.  Navigate over for John Piper to give a brief description.  Go on.  I’ll wait.

Arcing is a visual form of discourse analysis; that is, analyzing a hunk of prose.  It’s helped me see the text in context better than I normally do.  It’s all to easy with verse numbers to drop to the smallest part possible and miss the bigger picture.  This has forced me to look at the totality, to my benefit.

Other things are certainly afoot around here, but just now, I can’t recall what.  Maybe I’ll post again before three months have passed.

Solo Deo Gloria,

jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Bible, gardening, Home. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lately

  1. Brad says:

    Arcing has it’s value, but reading the Word asking for the Holy Spirit’s enlightenment is even more valuable.

  2. javajeb says:

    Brad – you are certainly correct. Even with a tool such as arcing, it all needs to be bathed in prayer and a dependence on the triune God – Father, Son and Holy Spirit.

    Thanks for the reminder.

  3. Gerald says:

    I, too, hope you post a little more often than every three months. I’ve gotten out of the habit of checking your blog. 🙂

    Your coffee talk has reminded me that I found a coffee (Yemen San An’ ani) in my stash that I bought four or five years ago from SM. Tried it twice back then, but couldn’t stand it. On finding it again, I decided not to let it go to waste and give it another try. With a full city roast, I found it much more palatable this time around. Not sure if my taste buds have changed or my roasting skills.

    For us, it has been a fairly mild summer. That is, until August arrived. Now we, too, have 100 degree plus heat every day. Garden was extremely productive until the heat and inattention killed it.

    By the way, I am trying something new for our fall garden, self-watering container gardening using 5-gallon buckets. It’s making things interesting around here if nothing else. 🙂

    I have to admit I hadn’t heard of “arcing” before, but it sounds interesting. Will give it a try soon.

    • javajeb says:

      Well, good to hear from you too. I am planning another post once I get some good pics of the goats.

      Arcing is a good tool in the arsenal for Bible study. Takes some work to get used to it, but worthwhile, IMHO.

Comments are closed.