Recycling Bibles

Earlier this week, eldest daughter and I were on a bit of a road trip.  The primary goal was to secure d’s retainer.  Check.  Her next request was to go to a particular store that had a significant book section and excellent prices.  There, she picked up another book in the Bobsey Twins series, and I picked up three: one on John Henry, one on Abraham Kuyper, and an NIV Study Bible.  I’ve never owned an NIV Study Bible, but have wanted one for it’s notes for a while.  The downside was that I wasn’t prepared to pay what most places wanted.  What I found was a leather one for less than $25.  Done.

So this evening, I walked over to the Bible shelf to peruse all the unused volumes.  There are those I’m unwilling to part with: family Bibles, first personal Bibles, Bibles from family members who have died.  I have duplicates: one that I had and one that was Dad’s are the same Bible (New Geneva Study Bible).  There are others that have seen little use in past years, falling to the side in preference to my ESV bibles,  particularly the ESV Study Bible.

Now, I can’t complain; I’m like most Americans: we have more Bibles than we need.  I’m thankful for certain.  What I’m trying to figure out is the best way to “recycle” the older ones.  I’m not thinking of shredding them for compost, more like a reuse situation.  A few questions remain: 1) Is it appropriate to pass on a Bible that is inscribed?  2) Simply remove the dedication page?  3) What about Bibles with notes in them?

If anyone has any suggestions or experiences to relate, let me now.  I’m thinking of Good Will, but I don’t like the idea that a used Bible will be sold.  If I get rid of them, I’d rather they go for free.  I guess we’ll see how it turns out.  I’ll drop an update when I figure the best way to handle this.

Solo Deo Gloria,

jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Bible, Life, the Universe and Everything and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Recycling Bibles

  1. Jen says:

    What about passing them along to the kinder as they come of an age to use one for themselves?

    • javajeb says:

      Maybe, but since some are old school KJV, I’m not sure they would be able to handle it easily. But, then again, it’s truly beautiful in some passages.

  2. Gerald says:

    Why not pray about it and ask God to show you whom to give the Bibles? I’m sure that is what George Muller would have done.

    If you lived closer, I’d say let’s trade. I have two NIV study Bibles but no Geneva Study Bibles! For my part, the inscriptions would be interesting and the personal notes fascinating and helpful.

    My sisters read all the Bobbsey twin books when they were growing up. When I had read all of my books, I would read them, too. I don’t think it hurt me a bit. 🙂

    Sounds like you have a couple of good books to read. Kuyper is one of my heroes of the faith.

Comments are closed.