Fiddling with the Chemex

I’ve been leveraging the Chemex for most of my morning brewing lately.  However, I’d lost the wonder of the brew: that fantastic flavor that comes from the almost magical brew.  But then, I recalled a video I’d watched sometime earlier, on how to brew the perfect cup of coffee in the Chemex by Intelligentsia Coffee.

What happened?  We’ll, yesterday’s cup had all the wonder, the great flavor I’d been missing.  The difference?  Well, previously, I’d been pre-wetting the filter with tap water, disposing of it and then filling with ground coffee and brewing.  But yesterday, I used just off-boil water to bring in a bit of preheating to the vessel.  I was slowly suspecting, as I drank my morning brew, that thermal loss was the culprit.  And that seems to be the case.  I now could use a way to more thoroughly heat the brewer.  And also make sure it doesn’t sit long after brewing.  A prompt decanting into the preheated and waiting Thermos mug makes sure it stays nice and toasty.

Solo Deo Gloria,

jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Brewing/Drinking, Coffee and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fiddling with the Chemex

  1. David says:

    Hi there,

    I just ran into your site and loved it! I have just started up a coffee related blog (www.espressomachinesreviewed.com) that focuses on high quality, in depth reviews of espresso machines.

    I run the site with a few friends. We all love coffee. This summer we were lucky enough to travel through Central America. We are all veterinarians and were doing charity work out there. Naturally we made the most of it and visited coffee plantations while we were out there and this experience made us start up this blog!

    It doesn’t look like much now but we have a lot of good ideas that we will be implementing over the next few weeks and months.
    We’d love to be on your blogroll and would be more than happy to have JavaJeb on ours too!

    If you are interested please just email me back.

    Hope you have a great weekend!

Comments are closed.