Morphing Life?

Well, change comes to us all.  What change, do you ask?  Well, for me and my family, it’s been a journey that stared two years ago to change the way we eat.  Homeroasting had taken me much closer to my coffee, closer to the raw product, and that freshness has expanded.  Two years ago, we started making our own bread out of freshly milled wheat.  We have the opportunity to quarterly order wheat from a cooperative several states away.  Last spring, we started our flock of chickens for eggs (we’re moving into a bit of meat soon – too many roosters).  And last week, a milk goat for incredibly fresh milk.

So, what has this to do with coffee?  Lots, actually.The changed way we eat has made coffee a bit less tolerable, a bit more irritating.  That’s what’s behind my transition from a 32 oz FP per day to a simpler Aeropress diluted to 16oz each day.  That’s it.  No afternoon pick-me-up, unless there was an extraordinary night precceding, and my food gives me the energy to move on.  Coffee is still enjoyable, but it’s moving around my house much more slowly.  I don’t have plans soon to stop roasting, either for myself or others.  It’s just dramatically slower, to the extent that my usual roasting per week was 3-5 batches, totaling about 100g each.  Now, a single roast will power me through four days.  And as such, my attentions tend to drift…

Now, my focus is on a desperately sad and tragic funeral this weekend, then more seedlings to plant, some seeds to set.  I will continue to develop a bed for later this summer, and possibly a second.  And we are engaged in talks for another milker.  Then there’s the yard work and a lawn mower tune-up, increase the pen size for critters to enable rotation, shed/barn construction, sermon prep for May,…  So, you see, there’s a lot going on in life now, which is why I’m not here very often.

Given this truth, the focus of this site may change, but that’s not a promise.

Solo Deo Gloria,

jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Coffee, gardening, Life, the Universe and Everything and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Morphing Life?

  1. Gerald says:

    Ever thought about moving to Lancaster and joining an Amish community?

  2. javajeb says:

    Not in the least. Not only could I not survive in the technological climate, but I also couldn’t theologically. We come from opposite ends of the spectrum within historical Christianity.

  3. Gerald says:

    The lack of technology in the home would be difficult to get used to, but I think we could do it—if running water within the home is one of the technologies allowed! I would miss being able to access all the wonderful information available on the internet, but a few good books and some mature people to talk with would serve me well.

    Theologically? I guess I don’t know enough of what they believe to make an accurate assessment of that. I do know that shutting oneself off from the world is certainly going to make it more difficult to tell the world of the good news of Jesus Christ.

Comments are closed.