Joy

If joy is a challenge to you, navigate on over and listen to Pastor Lee on joy.

Solo Deo Gloria,

jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in FBF and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Joy

  1. Gerald says:

    I am going to have to listen to Lee today if I get the chance. I need to be reminded of the hope and joy I have in Christ.

    This is because I’ve had two consecutive unfortunate days. Yesterday, while washing my 32-oz press, I tipped it over in the sink and broke it! I handled that mishap with great equanimity–was almost proud of myself. 🙂 But this morning, while rinsing out my 48-oz press, it slid out of its’ stainless steel frame, fell into the sink and broke! And before I had made coffee, too! My self-congratulatory composure of the previous day was out the window in a flash! Nooooooo! And I beat the wall with my fist. Fortunately, neither the wall nor my fist was injured. 🙂

    Upside was that I got to experiment with the Chemex once again. That coffee was good, but once again it was cooler than I prefer. Not sure what to do about that other than learn to enjoy cooler coffee.

    But now I’m in a pickle. My vacuum pot needs new cloth filters (or a Cory rod), my presses are out of action, and I haven’t learned to make good coffee in the moka pot. It’s either the Chemex or nothing for the next few days.

    I’m feeling the pressure. Learn to make coffee in the Chemex or thirst! 🙂

  2. javajeb says:

    Well, for the Chemex, try this:

    1. While grinding, fill with hot water to pre-heat the vessel. Place on something that will provide insulation, like a silicone mat/holder.
    2. When grinding is done, empty Chemex, place in filter and grounds and use very hot water for brew.

    That should get you some warmer, but granted, the Chemex doesn’t retain much heat in its thin glass. Might be worth a try.

  3. Gerald says:

    One other thing, I’m looking at replacement beakers online. I’ve noticed that there are some made of polycarbonates that promise to be unbreakable. Do you know of any down side to that type of beaker?

  4. javajeb says:

    Nope. Mine are the boro-silicate glass from Bodum.

  5. Gerald says:

    I thought I’d make one final comment here to say that practicing with the Chemex and the moka pot have paid off. I can now make excellent coffee in both the Chemex and the Moka pot. Coffee from the Chemex is still slightly cooler than I am accustomed to, but I adjusted to that. The smooth, mild nature of Chemex filtered coffee is a nice change of pace at times. However, I do consider the Chemex to be the most labor-intensive of all the brewing methods (and I’m not one to ususally even consider something like that.) Anyway, the Chemex is going to be reserved for company most of the time.

    The moka pot, on the other hand, now makes me such an excellent cup of coffee that I am content to put off ordering a replacement FP beaker for a while. It’s interesting, though, that I’ve found I like the darker roasted, less citrusy coffees in the moka whereas I normally prefer bright Kenyas and Yirgacheffes.

Comments are closed.