Life Management, Part 3

Part the first, second elsewhere.

The third leg of my LMS (life management system) is my planner holder, integrating my life into a single, portable whole. The great part is that this system comes with great economy, the Lee Vally Portable Office.  The function of a hardware store melding with the need for organization in a modern world; old world arranging the 21st century.  For a closet luddite working in IT, it’s a marriage made in heaven.  The green vinyl binder holds your calendar, originally the Harvard Elite Planner, on the left with a nice and handy hardbound notebook of 180 pages made up of Smyth sewn, acid free paper.  They, too are affordable.  How do the two help me connect all the dots of life?

Well, the one volume is virtually omnipresent with me, containing my appointments and tasks, along with a constant place to write: it’s all part of redeeming the time.  Not only do I work full time in IT, have 5 children and a very full family life, but I also preach with some regulartiy at my church, as well as maintain their website.  So, when I’m looking at a passage and working on constructing a sermon, I have just what I need at any given time.  My working outline and notes are always with me, all I need to add is either a dead-tree Bible, or an online one.  Now, with this, I can easily take advantage of my lunch time to do sermon prep.  Granted, watching this, I must be careful not to over exert and extend myself.  I have a great propensity to work too much, not allowing adequate rest time.

Disciplining myself to rest aside, I am able to accomplish much of what I need with a single volume in my breifcase.  A luddite I am, and for the forseeable future, a luddite.  Online tools don’t work as well for me.  In part, it’s due to me being a more kinetic learner: the tactile response of pen or pencil on paper more tighly cements ideas into my mind, making them readily available for recall, on demand.  On screen doesn’t have than adhesive quality.  Pinching out 15-30 minutes here or there, with planning, I seem to be able to get the majority of things accomplilshed.  Planning is reqired, with careful mapping of parts and pieces to make sure it all flows and completes, but without a unified tool, I fear I’d be far from complete.

Solo Deo Gloria,

jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Life, the Universe and Everything, Paper and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Life Management, Part 3

  1. Gerald says:

    Interesting! Sounds like you’ve put together a great plan for staying organized. I know, from having read all the things you are doing, that it must be working for you.

    A dead tree Bible, eh? 🙂 That’s funny.

  2. javajeb says:

    “dead tree” = paper now for many things.
    And as for the system, it’s been fundamentally the same for 4 years. The only change is going from the commercial calendar to the self-designed replacement.

  3. Have you found the new study on coffee creating hallucinations? No, it’s true: http://www.chasingsanity.com/coffee-cheaper-than-a-psychic/

  4. javajeb says:

    Funny, for sure. Seems that coffee will do anything to you, from kill you, to save your life. So I don’t lend much weight to the studies, but do like to see them.

  5. Gerald says:

    That was funny, Sanity. That study deserved to be made fun of, though. They studied 200 students? What kind of study is that? Certainly not a serious one that should have been published by anyone.

    They conjectured that stress plus the ingestion of caffeine equivalent to MORE than 7 cups of coffee a day might be the reason for increased hallucinations. Perhaps. But come back when you’ve interviewed a few thousand people from all walks of life over a period of several years. You might have something interesting to report then. At least, it would have a glimmer of a chance at being reliable. The most intelligent thing said in this report was that it needed further investigation.

    One comment they threw out as fact was that 3% of the population experience these same types of hallucinations. That’s the kind of “fact” that makes me seriously question everything these “scientific researchers” might have to say. 3% of the general population? Does that include habitual drug users? People living under bridges? New Age prophets? If so, I’m surprised the number isn’t higher! 🙂

Comments are closed.