Bible Reading, 2009

Last year about this time, I penned this entry on how the ESV, RSS and tools such as google reader are helping me keep faithful in reading God’s word.  Well, this year, the good folks at Crossway have even a few more plans available, including one plan from the quite awesome ESV Study Bible (a hardcopy I received for Christmas, which includes the web version for free!).  But for me, with a new little one at home, I need brevity.  Times of quiet are few and far between.  So, I’m sticking with last year’s Daily Bible Reading Plan (rss, print).

The next difficulty for me will be integrating more prayer time into the daily worship time.  Reading Jerram Barrs’ book on prayer is quite convicting and inspiring, so I’m looking for more.  What I read this weekend on fasting, though only part of a chapter, leaves me feeling rather like a chump.  Fasting is definitely a spiritual discipline that is severely lacking in my life, and I hazard a guess in all of evangelicalism.

On the subject of reading, the pastor and I have been doing weekly book talk lunches.  So far, we’ve made it through J. Greshem Machen’s “Christianity and Liberalism” and will finish up Luther’s small book “On Christian Liberty” with the letter to Pope Leo X.  Afterwards, we move into Jonathan Edwards “The Freedom of the Will”.  Looking forward to it.

Morning Cup: FP of Kenya Thika Chania.  Nice body, smooth and slightly bright.  Roasted on Jan 2 to a City+, about 435.

Solo Deo Gloria,

jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Life, the Universe and Everything and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bible Reading, 2009

  1. Gerald says:

    I’m envious of your lunches with your pastor. I wish I was doing something like that. Hmmmm, perhaps it would help if I asked him? 🙂

    At Thanksgiving, I got to read two books cover-to-cover. At Christmas, I was even more blessed and got to read three books. It’s wonderful to have a grandmother around to change the diapers and feed the children. 🙂

    I wanted to make a quick comment on fasting. When I first became a Christian and read about fasting, I noted in Matthew that Jesus said “When you fast” not “If you fast”, so I took that as His command to fast and made that a somewhat regular part of my spiritual life. It was an absolute joy to make that sacrifice for my Lord. But over the years as I talked to other people about fasting, I learned that I was virtually alone in doing that. Even my pastors did not fast. Many people I talked to thought I meant fasting as a way to jump-start a weight loss plan or something. Hardly anyone was fasting for spiritual reasons (repentance, special prayer request, time of total devotion to praising God, etc).

    I don’t know if I can blame the lack of encouragment from my brothers and sisters in Christ or not, but I have not fasted myself for at least the last four years. Even this last election didn’t move me to fasting and prayer! Pretty sad. And convicting.

  2. javajeb says:

    Thanks for the note and encouragement.

    BTW, what two books did you read? I read on “All God’s Children and Blue Suede Shoes” and Barr’s book on praying.

  3. Gerald says:

    “All God’s Children and Blue Suede Shoes”? Wow, now that’s a title that will get your attention! I want to read it just to see how those things are tied together. 🙂

    I read “The Evolution of a Creationist”, “Escape from the Coming Tribulation”, and “You can’t do that, Dan Moody”.

    The first is the story of a professor who was asked some questions by a couple of his students that he couldn’t answer. In trying to find answers to their questions and to refute their arguments against evolution, he slowly came to understand that he was totally wrong about everything he believed. Eventually, he became a Christian and a Creationist.

    Second book was written back in the 70’s and attempted to unravel the problems of understanding prophecy as well as any passasge in Scripture. The answer, according to the author, was a rigorous use of 9 principles of logic, context, background, definitions, etc. He warned against taking verses out of context or in using only verses that supported a pre-conceived opinion. Very well done.
    Third book was about a truly great man in Texas history. Dan Moody wss a very young county prosecutor when the Klan came into his county, beat a man half to death and tarred and feathered him before chaining him to a tree outside the county courthouse. All on Easter Sunday, no less. 😦

    At the time, the Klan was at the zenith of their strength. They had never been convicted of any crime and were in danger of taking control of every aspect of our society. Dan very skilfully got a conviction of the first man to be tried, and the others soon wilted and worked out plea bargains. Dan then used that success to become our state’s attorney general where he soon found that our governor was even more corrupt than the current Illinois governor. He ran for governor against that governor, won, and cleaned up our state governemnt. He would be our governor still except that an honest man could not live on the governor’s $4,000 a year salary. 🙂

  4. javajeb says:

    They all sound interesting.

    All God’s Children is a look at popular culture and the Christians interaction to pop culture. It’s by Ken Meyers, the cat who does the Mars Hill Audio Journal, to which I also subscribe.

  5. Gerald says:

    Sounds like a worthwhile read!

    Hey, do you have any idea how I got that silly picture associated with my posts? The pink sunglassed figure with its’ tongue sticking out?

Comments are closed.