Pancakes & Bacon – Yum!

The bacon was cooked tonight for supper, along with some kamut pancakes.  The bacon cured for 6 days, started Saturday evening, in the fridge in a platic zip-loc bag.  The curing agent was primarly salt and sugar, but the slab was first slathered with molasses, then coated in the one cup each kosher salt/raw sugar mixture.  The taste?  Well, first it was the coffee.  Then the bread.  We now may be ruined with this bacon.  Slightly sweet.  Very dark from the cooking of the molasses.  Nicley sweet with a pleasingly salty aftertaste.  One of the better bacons I’ve ever tasted.  We’ll be grabbing more bacon at the Farmer’s Market tomorrow!

Solo Deo Gloria,

jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Life, the Universe and Everything and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pancakes & Bacon – Yum!

  1. Gerald says:

    Is it too late to comment on this post? 🙂

    I did write a comment several weeks ago, but was interrupted before I could finish so I lost the whole thing. What a shame, eh? 🙂

    Your bacon sounds very good. I’m going to have to try that myself.

    I wanted to ask, though, why the kamut pancakes? I had never heard of kamut before so I did a little reading on the subject, but afterwards could still not understand why or how kamut would make a difference? Taste? Healthiness factor? I’m clueless. 🙂

  2. Gerald says:

    The second comment I wanted to make was about the syrup recipe you asked for. I certainly didn’t realize that you would be needing syrup so quickly or I would have given it to you at once. However, it might be a good thing I didn’t. That’s because my wife has not been especially smitten with that syrup. She says it’s because I made the sugar syrup with half brown sugar and half granulated sugar. That gave the syrup too much of a molasses-like flavor for her. I happen to like molasses a lot, but if the whole family is going to eat it, I’ve got to change it. Her other complaint was that they syrup was thinner than she liked. Anyway, you might say that Newsom Dark Amber Syrup is a work in progress. 🙂

  3. Gerald says:

    You know, that pink guy with the tongue sticking out is still following me around. 🙂

  4. javajeb says:

    Kamut is a different type of grain, an ancient relative of modern wheat. More here.

    On the pink dude, it’s all me. WP allows gravatars to be assigned (gravatar is the name of the icon associated with a user) by the blog owner if the user doesn’t have a gravatar associated via a WP account or other login means (OpenID?). I can change him to other appearances at will, and did just the other day, hence your new appearance.

  5. Gerald says:

    Ah, so kamut isn’t just another name for wheat or one of its’ varieties. Good to know it’s still around.

    And if I’d read this post earlier, I would have understood the pinkie face. 🙂

  6. Gerald says:

    That article you linked to is one I’ve seen before. This time, though, I read the entire article. Makes a difference when you do that. One thing very interesting (besides the fact that Kamut is more nutritious) is that people who have allergies associated with eating wheat products can often eat kamut instead. I have an aunt with that allergy so I sent her the article. Will let you know if she switches and starts eating it without harm.

Comments are closed.