Coffee Today – OP Blend Again

This morning, I had the almost empty jars staring at me, with two jars of last nights roasts resting in the wings.  Would the two stray jars hold enough for a FP brew?  They weighed in at 42 grams, two under what I normally use.  Negligable.  I went forward.

The players in this blend were a FC roasted Kenya Thika and a City+ Mexico Chiapas La Union Co-Op.  Tom has unique comments about each of these in that they don’t match quite what you’d expect from either origin.  The Kenya I found to be lack luster and a bit flat when brewed as a single-origin brew.  The Mexico I’ve always liked – nice, smooth and a bit chocolatey.  The combination was amazing!  Nice smooth chocolate, but not overly sweet.  There were undertones of some berry flavor that harmonized well with the chocolate.  Intoxicating!  A great brew for the last day of work before Christmas break.

Merry Christmas to all!

Solo Deo Gloria,

jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Blending, Coffee and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Coffee Today – OP Blend Again

  1. Gerald says:

    Merry Christmas, Jason!

    That sounds like a great combination! I’m going to roast my Christmas coffee this afternoon. Hope it turns out nearly as well as your blend.

    At Christmas, I am going to get to see an I Roast 2 in action. My sister-in-law has been using a friends for a few weeks and says she loves it. The thing costs about $180 these days so I don’t think it will make me break the last commandment. 🙂

  2. javajeb says:

    Best wishes for your Christmas roasting. Hopefully the enticement of the iRoast won’t be too much on you. For me, based on my Hearthware experience, I don’t know that I’ll ever buy a commercial built roaster. The Poppery works too well to sink $50+ into another one. Now, hacked together that runs north of $50, but has large capacity, now you’re talking!

  3. Gerald says:

    I didn’t get to see the IRoast in action. My sister-in-law got sick and un-invited us to her house. Instead, we all went to Grandma’s house. They did bring me some of that Ethiopian wet-processed Koratie to try that everyone is raving about. It was good but I think it would have been better at a lighter roast. Looked like it was roasted to a light Vienna. Very good, nevertheless.

Comments are closed.