Thanksgiving 2008

Well, we’re back home after three days of travel that also included homeroast, as most trips do.  The 4.5 hour drive to my mother-in-law’s on Wednesday was uneventful, thankfully!  We arrived just fine.  Along for the ride was some Tanzania Blackburn Estate.  Thanksgiving morning was an AP of Ethiopia Golocha.  Thursday afternoon, I had my travel mug on hand for the after dinner trip to my sister’s, another 2.5 hours away but closer to home.  It’s amazing how even cool to cold homeroast actually tastes!  Not putrid and bitter like the store stuff.

Friday morning at sister’s was good as well.  She and the DW went out and did some shopping while my mother and I stayed and watched the kids.  And for wathcing four, you need energy.  A bit more Tanzania Blackburn was brewed in the AP.  Instead of a lower dosing of grounds, I opted for an approximation of 40-44 grams (no scale nor pre-weighed beans) and brewed.  I split the concentrated brew between a standard mug and my travel mug.  I diluted both to taste.  Nice and full flavor from the TBE.  The flavor was good, but a bit off.  Not sure that the proportions were off, however, or maybe the dilution was wrong.  Without the consistency of dosing I get from a digital scale, it’s hard to figure out what might have gone wrong.

After the trip, I’m still setting on the end of last weekend’s roasting.  In a few days, it’ll be time to roast again.  While we were gone, the chickens did fine in their new home.  Now, it’s shortly off to pick up groceries with some of the children.  And I’ve got to get the next sermon started; scheduled for December 28th, unless DW goes into labor!

Solo Deo Gloria,

jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Thanksgiving 2008

  1. Gerald says:

    Wonderful! What a great Christmas gift!
    Your family will soon have multiple reasons to celebrate all the major holy days!

    My wife’s best friend (the opera singer) is also expecting to have her little one greet the world on December 24.

Comments are closed.