Weekend Work

This weekend was a full one that enabled me to cross an item off the to-do list..  After our standard Men’s Prayer at church, I stopped by the Farmer’s Cooperative and picked up fencing and supplies: t-posts and wooden fence posts, woven wire and cracked corn for the birds.  After a quick unload at home and a pick up of the chain saw and fuel, I headed off to help cut wood for a church member who has no real way to harvest alone.  Cut for about an hour, then back home.

Once fed and stretched out, I proceeded to drive 38 t-posts and dig and set 5 wooden posts.  Sunday was fence pulling day.  Fenced in an area that has a 300 foot perimeter.  It currently houses the chickens, and will be the home of milk goats when/if we go that way.  Normally, I wouldn’t do such labor on Sunday, but necessity claimed the day.  With some rooster issues and planned away time for Thanksgiving, we needed a larger area to house the birds.  And it’s another step along the goat trail, should we end up with them.

On other matters: scripture memory.  If you’re like me, memorizing scripture is a difficult process.  Time is always robbed away and the best intentions foiled.  Well. Tim Challies is seeking to help believers counter that trend.  He’s started a weekly Memorizing Scripture blog session that will help participants memorize scripture together.  It’s either a verse a week, or one longer passage over the entire duration, or both if you’re inclined.  Stop on over.  Find encouragement chewing on the word of God.

Happy Thanksgiving to all!

Solo Deo Gloria,

jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Life, the Universe and Everything and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Weekend Work

  1. Gerald says:

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family, too, Jason! I think I missed wishing a happy birthday to your youngest, too?

    This is only one day later, so I’ll wait until tomorrow to ask how the old body feels. 🙂 That was a lot of fence to put up for anyone, but especially someone who doesn’t do it regularly.

    I will also go by Tim’s blog and see what’s going on. I intended to memorize entire books of the Bible this year, but it hasn’t happened.

  2. javajeb says:

    Yeah, I’m surviving. Got a bit straightened out earlier, so feeling better. Thanks for the birthday wishes. He had a good day, good but low key.

  3. Gil Banton says:

    hey man i stumbled on your blog trying to find coffee roasting tips how cool is that, God Bless brother

  4. javajeb says:

    Good. Let me know if you need help. I can educate, nay, addict you on/to this easily!

  5. Pingback: Thanksgiving 2008 « Coffee Blog

Comments are closed.