Sowing

The gardening motif extends this time from tending to starting a fall crop of greens to preaching this Sunday. 

On the garden front, I’ve lost a few more squash plants to the vine borer.  I now know the signs a bit better.  In an effort to control the buggers, I’m going to thoroughly break up the soil come spring and try a new location for next year’s squash.  But, the space let me set out seeds for spinach, collards, a couple of short harvest lettuces, and a few peas.  This is the first year of fall cropping, so we’ll see how it goes.

We’ve also decided to rip out a circular bed at the end of the house and make it a “Pizza Garden”.  It’s currently holding a whole bunch of monkey grass on the edges with irises in the middle.  So, come next month or so, I’ll be toiling away, removing the monkey grass, followed by the iris bulbs.  Then, it’s soil amendment time!  The goal is to plant at least the core ingredients for pizza: tomatoes, garlic, bell peppers, and various herbs.  We’ll probably add more; the bed can hold it.  It’s about a 20′ circle.

Finally, I’m preaching this Sunday on Ecclesiastes 5:8-20.  I’ll be posting something soon over at the FBF site.

UPDATE: The sermon notes are here.

Solo Deo Gloria,

jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Life, the Universe and Everything and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sowing

  1. Gerald says:

    Pizza garden sounds like an interesting idea! Good luck with that. Does that circular bed get lots of sunlight?

  2. javajeb says:

    Yes, it gets a good bit, mostly morning.

  3. Gerald says:

    Jason, I’m having trouble finding time to listen to your entire message so far. Hopefully, later today. . .

    But I wanted to ask if you had seen the emails on the home roast list saying that Ron Kyle had died? Apparently, he was diagnosed with bone and liver cancer just three weeks ago and died yesterday.

  4. javajeb says:

    I happened to catch that this morning. I didn’t even know Ron had been ill. Very sad, indeed. I got my first espresso machine from him, and still have it and a Thor Tamper that came with it.

  5. Gerald says:

    He seemed to be such a gentleman on the list–never a flame-thrower. As a businessman, he seemed quick to offer help, and very humble. It is a sad day when we lose one like that.

Comments are closed.