Squash Fatalities

Well, there may be fatalities, but definitely one already.  Sorry, no pics.  I didn’t have the camera on me last night when I discovered the invader: a squash vine borer.  The bugger claimed a yellow crook neck squash and may yet claim a spaghetti squash.  I’ve buried the vines of the spaghetti squash to see if they’ll re-root and rebound.

Interestingly, there’s little in the way of dealing with these bugs.  Once you see them, it’s usually too late.  One source mentioned planting a sacrificial crop of hubbard squash.  Other techniques seem to be burying the growing vine a defined points to create multiple root points; wrapping the stem in something that will prevent the bugs from establishing.  There also seems to be companion plantings that will work.  It’s interesting: this is the only bed I didn’t companion plant.  I have nasturtium spread throughout my other bed and have had only minimal issues with the other squash bugs.  So, a lesson learned.  Must companion plant!

Solo Deo Gloria,

jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Home and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Squash Fatalities

  1. Gerald says:

    Sorry to hear of your squash woes. If you find any of the Squash vine borer’s larva, your chickens will love to take care of those for you.

  2. Gerald says:

    This may be the wrong page to post this comment, but I wanted to tell you that I had my first Chemex pot of coffee this morning. I brewed 30 ounces of water with 8 tablespoons of the latest Horse Harar. Followed Tom’s instruction page to pre-wet the filter with hot water and to try for a brewing process that lasted from 5 to 8 minutes. Came close to that. At the eight minute mark, there was still about three ounces of brewing water in the filter.

    The coffee was very good- clean and flavorful. My only complaints for this first try are that the coffee was a little weak (should have used 10 tbsp as Tom suggested)and that the coffee was not nearly hot enough for my tastes. Perhaps a larger grind size would let the brewed coffee through the filter faster and thus keep the coffee hotter? I will find out tomorrow! I’m also not sure how to clean the Chemex. Baby’s bottle brush is too short so I think I need to head to the store today to look for a longer-handled brush.

    Anyway, it was fun to start experimenting with yet another way to brew coffee! 🙂

  3. javajeb says:

    Chemex and squash? Oh well, no big deal.

    My procedure with the C is to grind fairly coarse to minimize ground-water contact. You’ll have to play to find the right spot. The other key is keeping the water hot between fills. I usually have the kettle at an almost boil and pour the first 16 oz, which is just about full in the filter. As it descends, the kettle is back on the burner at lower heat. Then, once the level’s dropped enough, add the next 16 oz.

    As for proportions, it’s definitely heavier than a French Press. I’m finding that all filtered coffee needs to be brewed at a higher proportion of coffee:water than the non-filtered types. That’s defining filter here as paper, not glass, wire mesh, etc.

  4. Gerald says:

    Thanks for the tips! I’m going to increase the coarseness of the grind by 1/2 steps until I find the one I like the best.

    After the coffee is brewed, do you immediately pour into something that will hold the heat better? And do you remove the leather/wood collar before washing?

  5. javajeb says:

    I usually decant immediately into drinking vessels. No matter what you do, the Chemex won’t hold much heat. An insulated carafe would work fine.

    On cleaning, I have removed the collar, but I don’t always. I tend to rinse thoroughly after each use and periodically clean with something else. There has been a brown film build-up in mine that I fixed with some espresso machine cleaner that was safe for glass.

Comments are closed.