Coffee and Saturday

Today was a pretty average day for our household. I headed out early for the men’s prayer group at church, came home and we all went out to the Farmer’s Market at the old Train Station. Grabbed some ground buffalo, hormone free ground beef and some garden plants.

The morning’s coffee was a 5 day rested Brazil FTO Poco Fundo Coop in a French Press. The dose was about 48 grams, IIRC. Not bad, but I think I missed this roast a bit.

Dinner was going to be buffalo burgers on fresh and toasted sourdough toast, but the sourdough didn’t want to cooperate with slicing. So, we went with some straight home bread toasted on the grill. Not bad at all, but it will take some getting used to to grill buffalo burgers. Very different from the bovine variety of burgers.

In addition to moving the chickens, mowing the yard and prepping Sunday School (Isaiah 52:13-53:12), I snuck in a roast of some Sumatra Classic Mandheling. It was an early birthday gift from my DW. I haven’t had any Sumatra for a while – looking forward to it in a few days!

Solo Deo Gloria,
jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Coffee and Saturday

  1. Thanks for looking into it. I miss last year’s. I just had the Carmo – Nazareth Dias Pereira and it’s extremely sweet. I messed up the roast though taking way too long to get to first crack which may have flattened it out. Whenever the weather changes I have to readjust.

    I’m under attack:
    http://www.qaya.org/blog/?p=479
    It’s not fun.
    Jeff

  2. javajeb says:

    Keep your head up, Jeff. I’ve dug around from the link and am surprised. It’s interesting – the over sight committee, as I understand it, doesn’t do the work of the translation. One of my Hebrew professors in Seminary, Jack Collins, was one of the OT translators. He’s not high profile, but an excellent Hebrew and OT scholar. And a competent linguist in general. There was frequent allusions to the way Hebrew functioned in comparison to other languages, such as Welsh, Russian and Latin. Those are the ones I definitely remember.

  3. Gerald says:

    Stick to your guns, Jeff! Peter Kirk thinks the TNIV is the best available Bible and is the one he uses. That alone speaks volumes. The ESV translation was begun to counter gender-neutral “translations” (such as the TNIV). I’ve done a little reading on Peter’s blogs, etc. and found that he is a member of a charismatic Anglican church with apparently many female associate pastors so his preference for a gender-neutral Bible should be seen in that light.

  4. Thanks for the encouragement.
    Jeff

Comments are closed.