Grinding

I’ve talked a lot recently about grind proportions, but have only been dealing with a single brew method: French Press.  Wondering what I was missing again, I pulled out my Chemex.  Off and on recently, I’ve found that the brew was less than I recalled: the flavor was thin and lacking the flavor I associate with the Chemex.  Then, earlier this week, I was brewing in the Chemex and suddenly saw it.  It was the drip: way too fast, meaning that my grind was too coarse.  Before, I hadn’t been watching my brew: the morning are too crazy.  So, I tried it the next morning and ground the beans a bit finer and found that the brew extraction was better, slower, but not perfect.  The flavor profile was closer to what I remember though.

So, coffee is not just about grinding, but about watching the process for signs of errors.  That’s something I’ll try to remember now.

Solo Deo Gloria,

jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Brewing/Drinking, Coffee and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grinding

  1. Gerald says:

    I still don’t have filters for my Chemex. Hopefully, this weekend I will find some. If not, I will have to order and pay the higher prices.

    My grinder is set on #2 for the French Press. Setting #5 is about right for automatic drip. When I do grind for the Chemex, I am thinking I will set the grind level to 3 1/2 and go from there. What do you think? Is that a good place to start or should I grind it a little more coarsely?

  2. javajeb says:

    That sounds like a good starting point. Just watch and time the time it takes to empty the grounds. I can’t give you a solid time, but it shouldn’t be too fast.

Comments are closed.