Traffic, Links, Ratios – Part 3, and Repairs

Well, I’ve been noticing some inbound links sourcing from a cigar aficionado’s site.  While I don’t smoke, it’s great that there’s a niche blog/community for all the exquisite enjoyments of life.  One thing I did notice while perusing the thread was this page, “The Coffee Directory”.  From a quick perusal, it looks quite exhaustive.  Probably will become a staple link source for me in the future.

This morning, I returned my the kitchen, faced with a different bean choice in my ratio searching.  The selection today: Costa Rica La Horqueta “Top 50, rested three or four days, roasted to a City+, I believe.  While I still don’t have much of a taster, it was nice.  The body of a 8 Tasse FP, brewed for 2.5-3 minutes with 44g of beans seems much more present and pleasant to me.  Still plan on revisiting the Kinunu Bourbon with the experiments mentioned earlier.  We’ll see what it’s like.

Finally, I plead to the HR list for help yesterday.  My trusty Zass Knee Mill developed an issue earlier this week.  Pictures here.  As you can see, the knob separated from the grinding arm.  It can go back on, but not reliably.  So, the proposed solutions are threefold:

1.  Replace with a threaded bolt/screw at tap the arm to accept the threads.  Can do.  Thanks, homeroaster!

2.   Replace with a drawer pull from a hardware shop.  Can do, if I can find something I like.  Thanks SCCR!

3.  The most adventurous.  File the shaft of the ‘screw’ smooth, drill a small hole and tap.  Introduce  a 10-32 screw to the underside for holding.  Must figure a jig for this, but could do.  Thanks PZ.

So, this weekend may find me on the maiden voyage to our brand, spankin’ new Lowe’s for a knob.  Who knows?

Solo Deo Gloria,

jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Coffee, Life, the Universe and Everything and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Traffic, Links, Ratios – Part 3, and Repairs

  1. Gerald says:

    I’m following your experiments with interest, Jason. I especially appreciated “The Coffee Directory” you found. One page of that site indicated that a 32-oz press pot should use 10 tablespoons (50 grams) of ground coffee. The most I’ve ever used for that amount has been 6 1/2 tablespoons and my coffee is considered incredibly strong by others (they need creamer or hot water to dilute it). Have people commented to you that your coffee is very strong?

  2. javajeb says:

    Yes. I did a Chemex at home the other week for some folks that turned out too strong for most. I thought it was a hair too much, but nice. It’s just different palettes, for the most part.

  3. Gerald says:

    I’ve wondered if there is some sort of progression involved. When I first started drinking coffee (after a very long abstinence), I can remember telling people that I liked any kind of coffee as long as it wasn’t too strong. 🙂 Then, as my search for the perfect cup of coffee got underway in earnest, I found myself brewing stronger and stronger coffee. While using a drip brewer, I made it very strong, then diluted it to a drinkable level.

    Somewhere along the way, my tastes have gravitated towards the strong side until now I can make what I think is a rather weak brew, but others exclaim over how strong it is. (At those times, I can only think to myself, if you think this is strong, what would you think about a press pot brew? Or what would you think about coffee from the Moka pot?)

    Oh well. I only wonder where the process ends? With espresso? Turkish?

  4. javajeb says:

    I don’t think it’s just darker, but more flavor. Each method has its strength for developing flavor. And with some, the more beans, the clearer the flavor. For many, like the Ibrik and MP, more isn’t better. There’s a great finesse in making each, something I’ve not yet acquired. But both make an incredibly strong brew. The ibrik, for our weak western palettes, would have to be cut or spiced and sugared to be bearable. I’ve had it once at a Lebanese restaurant and it was good, but very strong.

Comments are closed.