Preaching

Preaching is always a refreshing, intimidating thing.  Handling the very word of God, explaining it to folks is a daunting task.  To be as careful as possible, it puts some stress on me.  Good, nonetheless.  And further, it demands a dependence on the Holy Spirit because I cannot do it on my own.  By my own bootstraps, I cannot pull myself up.

So, if you’re so inclined, you can check out some info and download the MP3 here.  Or, should you desire, subscribe to the podcast.

Solo Deo Gloria,

jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Proclamation and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Preaching

  1. javajeb says:

    You are too generous. If you surveyed 1000 Evangelicals online, inquiring who knew Piper and who knew me, and if google and all search engines were disallowed, I might get 1 soul who knew me. Piper – all of ’em. So, Big Gun, not in my mind.

  2. Gerald says:

    True, they might not know you, but does that disqualify you from being a ‘big gun’? Those same 1000 would recognize Joel Osteen more readily than they would javajeb, too, but that doesn’t mean Osteen is in the same league with you or Piper.

    Besides, every church can’t sit around waiting for a ‘big gun’ to come along and be their pastor. There aren’t that many to go around!

  3. javajeb says:

    You maybe correct. The other factor is that I’ve not seen a lot of churches anymore that really look for solid, Biblical teaching. There’s more of a push for the CEO style pastor. The merits between the two, I will not comment on here.

  4. Jason needs to read more Joel Osteen so he can reach his full potential.
    Jeff

Comments are closed.