Blends, etc

Well, last night was my roasting night.  Of the five batches, I had two beans that weren’t actually enough for a stable roast.  If you’ve never roasted in a popper, too little bean mass is a concern in addition to the overloaded roast.  The results are opposite: too little = too fast and flatter tastes;  overloaded = burnt beans, uneven roast overall.

So, I had to pad the Cameroon Caplami Java with something.  I looked, and I had a bit of the Java Monsooned Arabica.  Roasted it up to a Full City, just under or a few snaps into second.  The other blend was some Mexico Chiapas with some Tanzania AAA Songea.  That was roasted to a City+, a bit lighter than the former.  We’ll see what they’re like in a few days.  This morning was the Rwanda Kinunu, which is a wonderful, easy, full bodied cup, no matter the roast and rest levels.  Such a bean as this is why I’m loving all the African varieties.

On other items, shortly, I hope to cover up my Miquelrius notebook, mentioned formerly here. I have a small supply of leather that’s a few generations old.  I’ve been moisturizing a couple of sheets with hopes to use them.  My first test drive will be for something like this.  It’ll be nice to try, and use something bought by a great-great grandfather.  Then, I’ll move to build a replacement for my Lee Valley Portable Office.  The vinyl cover is starting to wear.  And it would be way cooler to carry the homemade leather version!

Solo Deo Gloria,

jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Blending, Coffee, Life, the Universe and Everything and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Blends, etc

  1. Pingback: A Blend Result « Coffee Blog

Comments are closed.