A New Year!

A new year, new opportunities and a short time to look backwards before charging forward. Of first importance, there’s Bible reading. Last year, I did a modified reading plan based on the ESV’s plan in the ESV Journaling Bible. This year, I’m striving for more consistency, reading all of it, and a new tactic. Some time ago, I read on the ESV Blog page about a blogger who was describing how to memorize entire books, namely here, Epistles. So, I’m trying his “Uploading Chunks” (warning – PDF!). So, we’ll see. If you’re looking for a plan for reading scripture, you can check this page out. They can be delivered to your inbox, to your RSS reader, printed, or viewed on the web. And there are quite a few configs from which to choose. Regardless of what you choose, my prayer is that you honor God in all you do.

Secondly, I’ve been recording my coffee roasts in an old notebook. It was one my grandfather got from where he worked – in the coal mine operations. I don’t know the original purpose, but they work well. My roasting tonight will mark the commencement of the 3rd year of roast records contained in the notebook. It won’t make it through 2008, but it’ll go a little ways in.

May your new year be a blessed one!

Solo Deo Gloria,

jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Bible, Coffee and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A New Year!

  1. Gerald says:

    Happy New Year, Jason! I, too, would like to memorize entire epistles this year so I thank you for that information page. It should help a lot.

    One of my Christmas gifts was Max Mclean’s reading of the Bible using the NIV. Am enjoying having that immensely. Should also help with the memorizing, too.

  2. Gerald says:

    My wife and I have decided to memorize Philippians followed by Colossians. We can already see that being able to put Max on ‘repeat’ is going to be a great help. That, along with the tips you found, and some stick-to-it-ness, and we just might manage to do it. πŸ™‚

    We’re starting with Philippians because we memorized the first two chapters a few years ago and thought we might as well complete that before starting another book. I’ll let you know how that goes.

  3. javajeb says:

    I wish you well and good providence in your memorization of Philippians. I had my first setback on my daily plan this year: I had to go be at work by 6:30 yesterday, so not much reading was accomplished. Trying to make up today.

  4. Uh oh. You’ve been bad. You better throw ten hail Mary’s for that one. (I’m looking forward to the playoffs).

    I heard a sermon by John Piper on Colossians 1:9-20. He said to memorize it. So I will. It will be my largest “chunk” in many years. I admire you who memorize entire books.

  5. javajeb says:

    Good luck on Colossians. Satan makes it so easy to fail when it comes to spending time in God’s word. It’s always inviting to roll over and sleep a little longer, to watch TV instead, to do this or that. But like many things, it’s discipline, not unlike an athlete. But I’m not in very good shape! πŸ™‚

    And for the record, I’ve not memorized entire books…yet.

  6. Pingback: Reading Scripture in the New Year « Coffee Blog

Comments are closed.