Finally, Sweet Anohki!

Well, this morning was an opportunity blend morning.  All I had roasted was a Rwanda Kinunu Bourbon and a bit of Indian Anohki.  I’ve been dreading the Anohki for a while, so it’s been sitting for longer than typical, close to 2 weeks.  The aroma was still there with the beans, overly pungent fruit smells (checked last night).  So, with trepidation, I ground the two, poured into the French Press and proceeded to brew the brew.

The result?  Perfection!  The fruited sweetness was muted, but present, by the Rawanda.  The mix was somewhere between 55-60% Rawanda, 40-45% Indian.  Quite nice.  Now I think I’ve found the use for the remaining half pound!

Still yet, even though the beans weren’t my favorite, I don’t regret the purchase at all.  Some of the joy of homeroasting is the adventure, the experiment!

Solo Deo Gloria,

jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Blending, Coffee and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Finally, Sweet Anohki!

  1. That sounds like a great combination of coffee. I like to experiment also when it comes to brewing at home.

    Looking forward to reading more about your blends.

  2. javajeb says:

    You’d have to grab the Anohki at SweetMarias. It’s a rather rarely seen species of coffee, Liberica, and I doubt anyone else has it.

    Good luck!

  3. Gerald says:

    I’m glad you found the key to enjoying the Anokhi before it was too late. Last year about this time, I was feverishly roasting the remainder of a five-pound bag of a Kenyan for which I never did find the key (I was roasting it to a French roast and giving it away as mini-Christmas gifts to those who claimed to like dark coffee.)

    This year I am more worried about my stash going baggy so I am waiting until after the holidays to order new coffees. This is because I roasted a Sumatran favorite this last week that tasted ‘off’. Since it and several other coffees in my stash, are nearly two years old, I began worrying about losing them (the reason they are so old is that they are my favorites and I don’t want to say good-bye to them. Now I am more worried about saying goodbye with a bad last impression. 🙂

    Anyway, I mainly wanted to say that I enjoy reading your blog even when I am finding it difficult to maintain my internet connection or find the time to make a decent comment. Your posts on “keeping Scripture ever before you”, etc. were excellent reminders to all of us. Thanks.

  4. javajeb says:

    Thanks for dropping by. I have a bit of a JBM that’s two years old. But it’s not enough to roast alone, so it’s been pining away. It looks like the Christmas season will deplete some of my stash. I don’t keep a stash at all, based on some numbers folks on the list toss about. But I’m planning on ordering after Christmas too. Not sure what yet. Always a tough call!

  5. Craig D says:

    Maybe a little late, but I’ve just killed my second two pound bag of this stuff and am ordering a third before it’s all gone from SM’s. I blend this stuff about half & half with Indian Monsooned Malibar (I roast the MM to FC+ and the Anohki to C+) and the results are delicious. Served this blend to a big family gathering a few weeks ago and everybody loved it!

  6. javajeb says:

    Glad you liked it. I still have about 1/2 a pound that I haven’t roasted yet. Just waiting…

Comments are closed.