ESV, Context and Apocolypse

One thing that I’ve come to appreciate more and more with the ESV is it’s clarity and lack of need to argue with the translation. I was struck by this yesterday in Sunday School. We’ve been studying Isaiah and had reached the 14th chapter, one that many who love to debate about the end times love. When I asked for a volunteer reader for Isaiah 14, the volunteer read from the King James.

To set up the difference in verse 12, the context was my guide in studying. The immediate context is God’s judgment on te real, actual, historical nation of Babylon. It occupies the majority of chapters 13 and 14. What’s more, there are linguistic similarities in both chapters describing the pomp and arrogance of the Babylonians and the magnitude of their end, all referring to the heavens. Whether it’s a comparison of Babylon to the stars, Isaiah 14:13&14 (ESV):

13 You said in your heart,
‘I will ascend to heaven;
above the stars of God
I will set my throne on high;
I will sit on the mount of assembly
in the far reaches of the north; [2]
14 I will ascend above the heights of the clouds;
I will make myself like the Most High.’

or poetically descriptive of God’s coming judgment (Isaiah 13:9-11, ESV)

9 Behold, the day of the Lord comes,
cruel, with wrath and fierce anger,
to make the land a desolation
and to destroy its sinners from it.
10 For the stars of the heavens and their constellations
will not give their light;
the sun will be dark at its rising,
and the moon will not shed its light.
11 I will punish the world for its evil,
and the wicked for their iniquity;
I will put an end to the pomp of the arrogant,
and lay low the pompous pride of the ruthless.

Either way, there is a thematic unity in the two chapters. All this is incredibly easy to see with the ESV, and for that, I’m thankful.

Now, the meat. In the ESV, verse 12 fits well into this theme:

12 “How you are fallen from heaven,
O Day Star, son of Dawn!
How you are cut down to the ground,
you who laid the nations low!

From other histories, we know that Babylon did lay low the nations (e.g., Judah). From the immediately succeeding context, we know that, in their pride and arrogance, the Babylonians sought to set themselves in the place of God (vv 13&14). So, the “Day Star, son of Dawn” would seem to indicate an actual person, likely a king of Babylon.

The King James Version, by contrast, translates it thusly:

12How art thou fallen from heaven, O Lucifer, son of the morning! how art thou cut down to the ground, which didst weaken the nations!

Now, my Hebrew is very rusty, so I’m not going to get into the nuts and bolts of translation and exegesis. However, from a context, assuming both translations are sufficiently accurate, the ESV’s is much clearer. It preserves the context, as opposed to drawing attention elsewhere.

Secondarily, Lucifer and pride go hand in hand; pride is the source of most of our sin, we putting ourselves before God. So, Lucifer has some weight to it. But for me, the context wins me over to the ESV’s rendering. It’s truly amazing how a clear, concise translation that strives for a rigorous faithfulness to the original text can give a fresh understanding to a text. We didn’t hit 14:12 yesterday, but I’ve warned those that like to banter about with the Apocalyptic arguments that I will present an argument, from context, for a more historic understanding. And once we understand the text, then we can move to application.

This is just another reason I’m not looking for a new translation. Two years in, and I love it!

Solo Deo Gloria,

jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Bible and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to ESV, Context and Apocolypse

  1. I thought you might like to see a post where I used some CSS to highlight some stuff:
    Contrasts Between Present Affliction and Eternal Glory
    I thought you might appreciate it being a geek.

    I wanted to ask you–do you know of any Bible studies that could be done for a group that would be similar to Getting the Message but possibly with a narrower focus? It would also need to have a good leaders guide. Our leaders don’t want to spend a lot of time preparing on their own.

    A study on prayer might be good for our group too for a number of reasons. I have the book Praying Backwards which has a leaders guide but I haven’t read it yet. I don’t like the typical Bible study guide where you answer some questions. I think a book or (basic for our group) commentary is much better. Thanks.

  2. javajeb says:

    Cool CSS stuff.
    As for Bible Study, what do you mean by ‘narrower’? I’m not sure. So, pending that, I’ll wait.
    Praying Backwards is one I want to read, but haven’t had the chance. I took homeletics from Dr. Chappell – wonderful, gracious man. And I know what you mean with typical Bible Study material. I’ve been doing my own for a time now. There are times when it’s great, times when it’s not. But I know I learn more, and I hope and pray that translates to the class attenders. And sometimes a simple book discussion group can be highly beneficial.

  3. By narrow I meant maybe just concentrating on one area, like wisdom, or Psalms, or parables etc. (That DVD series Challies.com is offering for a prize may be good.)

    I would love to read a book and discuss it in our Bible study group but our leaders need some sort of a guide and people in the study need some sort of questions to focus on. The leaders don’t want to have to spend too much time preparing and about half of our group gets really chatty (annoying!) if it isn’t focused.

    I’m a follower not a leader, introverted and have problems being in groups of people for various reasons so it’s all I can do just to be there sometimes.

  4. javajeb says:

    Ahh, now I see. Let me ponder that one for a while. Check back in a day or two for a response.

Comments are closed.