Keeping Scripture Ever Before You

I’ve been playing with something for a while now.  As I’ve re-found my niche for quite, devotional time with God, I’ve been trying to write a bit on a verse or two I read.  Some time ago, I grabbed a small MiquelRius notebook, similar to these.  It’s served well to be portable and useful for recording thoughts.  The small pages reduce pressure: I don’t have to fill an 8.5X11 page full.  And, because of that, my thoughts are usually very concentrated.

Today, I was reminded of how helpful my little notebook can be (I keep it, usually, in my briefcase).  This morning, my readings took me through a stanza of Psalm 119, Colossians 4- 1 Thessalonians 2, and Proverbs 28.  This morning, this verse struck me:

119:168 I keep your precepts and testimonies,
for all my ways are before you.  (ESV Translation)

No matter what I’m doing, where I am, I need the reminder that my heart, my thoughts, my actions are always plain before God.  I may fool those around me as I toy with sin.  But the seriousness of sin is that it is an offense to God, and it is always visible to Him.

Further, to what extent is my heart like the Psalmist?  Do I live like the verse offers?  Not enough.

On a site usually about what I consume daily, I also need to feature my daily spiritual consumption as well.  I find it encouraging to write, so that I can recall what I was doing, how God has encouraged me, worked in me.  It’s a testimony to God’s faithfulness in my life.  And a testimony to my need of His grace.

So, if you don’t have a regular routine, or need a change, try writing in response to the word.  If it’s nothing more than a prayer back to God based on His word, that’s a great way to do it.

Solo Deo Gloria,

jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Bible, Life, the Universe and Everything and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Keeping Scripture Ever Before You

  1. Pingback: The Place of a Notebook « Coffee Blog

  2. Gerald says:

    Great advice, Jason!

    I’ve kept Spiritual Journals for years but keep misplacing them and having to start a new one. Finally started one with a computer journal software thinking that I could always find the computer at least. Problem with it, though, is that you have to go to the computer room, pull up the program you want and make your entry. I know that doesn’t sound too difficult, but I am having difficulty find time for every task already. (You know, I wonder sometimes how I ever found the time to waste watching hours and hours of television years ago. I certainly don’t have that time now.)

    Anyway, I agree that a readily available notebook is just what I need . . . and a place to keep it so that I can always find it. Hmmmm, what about a briefcase/bag dedicated to spiritual growth?

  3. Jennifer says:

    I’m glad that you like our product. You should consider siging up for the affiliate program since you are linking to our retail site. You can make a 5% commission on all purchases through your link. It takes just a few minutes to sign up and doesn’t cost a thing!

    Have a great day!

  4. Pingback: Blends, etc « Coffee Blog

  5. Pingback: Life is Dynamic! « Coffee Blog

Comments are closed.