Omnibus and Ombudsman’s Day

When you have a day off, with extra help on hand, it’s a day to get some pesky things done.  That’s today for me.  Morning – I’m not sure what happened there.  But shortly, after the halflings awake from afternoon slumber, I’ll be facing a dutch door I hung sometime ago to prevent the youngest from plunging head first down the stairs.  I was working on the frame pieces in the workshop, as well as doing some cleanup.  I went ahead and paused to roast a batch: India Anokhi.  This time, I’m not going to brew for at least 5 days.  We’ll see then, on the 26th or 27th.

Also, if you are so inclined to extend your mind and heart, there’s a new foray into the MP3 world of educational opportunities out there: Reformed Theological Seminary has turned to iTunes U to host some class audio.  Mostly, this seems to be for distance education folks, but they’re open to anyone.  I grabbed an Old Testament Survey of Isaiah to Malachi (to hear about Isaiah), the life and theology of CS Lewis, and one on Philosophy and Theology (with John Frame).  I’ve listened a bit to the Lewis class and some to the Philosophy class.  Head on over to RTS for more information.  Be forewarned: it does require iTunes, but they are plain jane MP3s.

Enjoy your Thanksgiving.

Solo Deo Gloria,

jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Coffee and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Omnibus and Ombudsman’s Day

  1. Gerald says:

    Thanks for the tip! I have been downloading lectures, etc. and burning them to a disc. I then play the disc on cd player that I have hooked to a Bluetooth wireless broadcaster. It’s such a pain to do, though, and I lose the signal if I get too far away from the set, that I think I would be much happier with an MP3 player loaded with lectures. If I had gotten out to Wal-mart at 5:00 this morning, I could have had a good deal on an 8 gig player. Didn’t make it, though. 🙂

    Good luck with the Anokhi! I drank the last of my roasted Idido this morning (at five days) and it was fabulous! Far better than it had been at two days rest. I’m thinking I will have to order a bag of this year’s crop, too.

    Just finished my coffee-roasting demo. Guy seems very excited about roasting his own. Said he’s going home to order his own sampler pack right away. I gave away a lot of coffee yesterday to brothers and sisters so now I am out of fresh roast myself (gave the demo-roast to the new guy). Must go back out to that cold garage and roast more!

  2. javajeb says:

    Too bad on the MP3 you missed. My wife was off at WalMart this morning, but I hadn’t noticed a deal on an 8GB unit. Too bad!

    So far, what I’ve listened to from RTS has been quite good. We visited the Jackson campus back in 1998, but for several reasons, including the climate, chose St Louis and Covenant.

  3. Gerald says:

    No excuses here. The little one woke me up a quarter after four wanting to eat. I got him a bottle then contemplated a shopping trip. Sleep won out, though. 🙂

    Speaking of no excuses, there is getting to be more and more free Bible training on the net. Should result in more and more Christians growing to spiritual maturity. Right?

    Um, yeah, I know. I wasn’t born yesterday, just sound that way sometimes. 🙂

Comments are closed.