Oh, Africa!

I was amazed this morning, once again, by an African.  Those beans just never disappoint!

This morning, it was the new Cameroon Caplami Java.  I roasted it on Saturday evening, brewed this morning in the Chemex.  The roast was a Full City, stopped somewhere around 440F, just before 2nd crack commenced.

The cup was alive with smooth, a hint of the earthy flavors Tom mentioned.  There was also some of the cinnamon spice to it.  A wonderful cup!  I am continually amazed at the offerings, differences of African coffee.  I just emerged from the workshop where I roasted two other Africans, equally different.  The first was the Ethiopia FTO Harar Trabocca Oromia, roasted to a City roast, about 430F.  The second was Rwanda Kinunu Bourbon, taken to a Full City, about 440F.  I may crack the Rwanda tomorrow, that or else the El Salvador Orange Bourbon (roasted last night).  Tomorrow will tell.

BTW – cleaning the Chemex is much easier with Cafiza.  I dropped about 1 or 2 teaspoons worth in the Chemex, filled with hot water, and dumped some time later.  Sparkling clean!  The Chemex had too many places where you just can’t reach well without the brush you cna buy.  I wanted to find another way.  Bottle brushes just didn’t quite do it.  Then I saw the Cafiza – BAM!  Done.

Solo Deo Gloria,

jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Coffee and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Oh, Africa!

  1. Gerald says:

    Will do. Am even thinking of drinking tea tomorrow to give it another day of rest. 🙂

  2. Gerald says:

    I wonder how that Cafiza would do on a stainless steel thermos? I’ve got two and have tried occasionally to put my wife’s hot tea into one, but she complains that her tea tastes of coffee.

  3. javajeb says:

    G – I’d probably guess that the taste residue is coming from the plastic/rubber parts. I don’t know what cafiza would do to them. The only applications listed are for espresso machines and brewers, indicating glass and metal. Plastics – I wonder. I’ll have a Chemical Engineer around for Thanksgiving. I’ll see what I can find out.

  4. Gerald says:

    Thanks, Jason! I’ll hold off on the Cafiza for now. I also have this faint recollection that someone on the list was talking about how they cleaned stainless steel. May try to find that thread.

Comments are closed.