Planner Cover

One of the neatest things about RYO-ing planner is that it’ll look like you want it. The DIY*Planner Templates have a great, framed cover page where you can insert anything. I went ahead and printed mine blank. By using the clear Levenger covers, anything you stick in there is immediately your cover.

My first cover is leveraging the great resources of wikipedia. You’ve had to have heard by now, but it’s more than an encyclopedia of dry material. I grabbed a great, colorful shot of a coffee cup that is classic! The print looks great, and the 4X6 shot fits perfectly. Now, I just want to figure out how to mount it, but be able to remove and change up later.

Solo Deo Gloria,

jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Life, the Universe and Everything and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Planner Cover

  1. Gerald says:

    I like your cover! (Or I will once you’ve got it the way you want it.)

    Jason, do you have any idea how much time you might have taken to put this planner together? And how much it probably cost to get one started?

  2. javajeb says:

    I had to spend hours and hours tweaking this to my satisfaction. Once I had the ‘OTJ’ training in place, it’s fairly easy to build. A couple of hours to do a mailmerge, export to individual pdfs, use some tools to patch it all together (with other supplementary pages). Up to an hour to print and punch.

    Cost is a different matter. I obtained my discs from rollabind rather cheaply. Levenger has them, but they’re more. Either will work.

    In order to keep your sanity, you would need the desk punch, similar price between rollabind and Levenger. Not cheap from either. But if you like circa, it’s a reusable resource and the cost is spread out over time, making it easier to swallow.

    If you want the disc binding, here are a few resources:
    diyplanner.com (where it all started for me)
    rollabind.com (supplies)
    levenger.com (supplies)

  3. javajeb says:

    BTW – a little more info here.

  4. Gerald says:

    Thanks for the information! I took a look at the pictures you posted. The pages look very good (well, the coffee cup cover was blurry. I think the flash reflecting off the plastic was to blame.) I think you’ve got a planner that will serve you well for years to come. I’m glad to know about the possibility of doing my own, but am wondering now when I would find the time.

    By the way, we have similar cameras! Yours is the better model, but mine has served me well. We were forced to buy ours while at the WTC site a couple of years ago. Took one picture with our old camera and it died. Went to a shop across the street but the guy working there could do nothing with it so we bought a Kodak z700 that was on sale.

  5. javajeb says:

    As for time, if you find my layout useful, you can have it! It’s available on diyplanner.com, as well as some other, mega-useful stuff!

  6. Gerald says:

    It is? Hey, that would be great! I’ll take a much closer look this weekend.

Comments are closed.