What are you doing tomorrow?

I, for one, will be doing this.  What about you?

Solo Deo Gloria,

jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in FBF and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What are you doing tomorrow?

  1. Gerald says:

    Jason, is this message available only as a podcast or can it be downloaded from the church’s site?

  2. javajeb says:

    Either. It’s available here.

  3. Gerald says:

    I enjoyed your message, Jason! We do need to continually keep in mind what we are living for and Who it is that gives our life meaning and purpose. Apart from Him, all is vanity.

    A few of the things you said struck a chord with me and my own vanity (or perhaps it’s the lack thereof in one particular case?) and that was when you talked about how difficult it is for you to keep your lawn mowed with four kids in the house. I have the same problem–with fewer kids, of course- and mine is made all the more apparent because of my neighbors. The one on my left has a small lawn care business he operates after his regular job. My neighbor to the right owns an apartment complex so he has employees who mow his yard. Between their immaculate lawns lies my unkempt jungle of grass and weeds. If I forget the things that are truly important in life, I begin worrying about the condition of my lawn and what the neihbors must think–not enough to mow it, you understand, but I do worry about it. 🙂

    Okay, I do get around to mowing eventually.

    This comment was getting a little long so I restrained myself from writing more. 🙂

  4. Gerald says:

    Can I make another comment on this particular posting?

    There was a lot I had considered writing about the poor especially contrasting the poor in other countries to the poor in our own (even to the point in asking if we truly have poor people here)

    But I think if I want to write that much I should probably break down and start my own blog rather than continually cluttering up yours and others. 🙂

    However, yesterday I received a Christian devotional magazine in the mail that had an article so closely in tune with your message Sunday that I had to mention it to you. It was called “Greener Grass” and was written by David Jeremiah (David Paul Jeremiah, actually. I love his name and would like to give it to one of my sons. Unfortunately, we have four Davids in our family already.) His message was not based on Ecclesiastes, though. Instead, it was from 2 Cor 6 and 1 Tim 6 and Job and Matt and Romans and Hebrews.

    Anyway, in addition to having a very similar message, he also gave illustrations using our obsession with having a green lawn saying that “The perfect lawn is the ultimate symbol that I’ve made it in the world.”

    To keep our lawns green, he quoted sources as saying that we use 19 trillion gallons of water, 2.4 million tons of fertilizer at a cost of 26 billion dollars.

    And, he made some clever analogies; “If it’s gain (greener grass) you’re after, you’ll find it in godliness coupled with contentment”, “All grass, regardless of how green, stays behind in the end. You entered the world with nothing, and you’ll leave it with nothing”, The desire for greener grass is a temptation and a trap into which many have fallen”, “Money is the greenest grass of all, but the love of it is the root of all kinds of evil. The pursuit of it (across the fence, over the hill) is to wander from the faith.”

    There is more, but if you are interested, you could go to TurningPointOnline.org and select Magazine.

  5. javajeb says:

    Thanks for the tip. I have no problem with what you consider clutter, for I do not consider it as such. I’ll have to check into this to read – the whole sermon has been percolating through me in a less than usual manner, all week, which I count as a blessing.

    Thanks again.

  6. Gerald says:

    It was a good sermon! Not only did your sermon make me feel better about the fact that I(we) don’t keep up the Jones’ (and don’t even want to), but it made me feel a little less guilty that my lawn is not well maintained. I don’t want our yard to be an eyesore for the neighborhood, but so often grass mowing is on the bottom of my to-do list. One of the things I keep threatening to do is to get rid of ALL the grass in our yard and just plant native plants with paved walking paths between them (or heavily mulched paths). Perhaps a number of fragrant herbs, too.

    I know that only a tiny portion of your message just happened to mention yards and mowing, etc., but that just happens to be one of those sticking points for me. Every time I come home I see our neighbor’s evenly-cut yard and our, uh, not so evenly-cut. Occasionally upsetting, but no more! I have you and David Jeremiah to thank—or to blame! 🙂

Comments are closed.