The Planner…

Will it live?  I did a full-blown print last afternoon, and all was good.  Until I saw that notification – out of paper.  Sure enough, the printer sucked up two sheets at once.  So now I’ll have to reprint the majority, while finding enough time to babysit the printer.  The pains of rolling-your-own.

In other news, I’m hoping to integrate my coffee roasting notes in with the calendar.  I have a dedicated little book that records my roasts, all since January 2006.  So, it’ll soon be two years of roasts logged.  I thought it would be interesting to log them inside the calendar/planner, but I’m not sure.  I’ll have to develop a form for it.  I did make one in the past (viewable here) , but I’m not too fond of it.  My default mode of logging now looks something like this:

Date (for a reference)

Bean Name, such as Java Monsooned Arabica or Colombia Huila San Augustin Micro Lot

Target roast level/temp: C, C+, FC, etc or 440F.

Brew Method and Rest time, which is hardly ever used

Cup notes, rarely used.

So, I don’t know where I’ll do this, whether keeping it where it is, or integrating.  There is a certain quality to being able to open a notebook and look at all the roasts I’ve done in a while.  But with Circa, I can still do that, but have them integrated for the current roasting.  Diligence would be required to fish them out and put them elsewhere.

We’ll see…

Solo Deo Gloria,

jason

PS –  If the word ‘evangelism’  scares you, listen to this sermon.  Good stuff.

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Life, the Universe and Everything and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Planner…

  1. Gerald says:

    Good message! I’ve saved it for future reference.

    Sorry to hear of the printing mishap. Hope it didn’t cost you too much wasted ink.

    I like your coffee log. Wish I had time to use it. Am thinking, maybe in ten years when the kids don’t need quite so much attention. 🙂

    Tried to order your Indian coffee today, but the order would not go through because I could not remember my CVV2 number (It has rubbed off.)

  2. javajeb says:

    If you have a USB key (not required by anymeans), check out keepass (keepass.info). Rocking password safe.

    Thanks for the props. I have to use some sort of logging. My jars only have the day of roast and roast sequence number on them (e.g., 28-1, 28-2). So, without my little key, I’d be totally lost. But I know what you mean by the little ones needing the attention.

  3. Gerald says:

    Jason, you are an excellent source of information! Thanks for the tip about keepass. I’ve just checked it out and I think it is just what I need. The storage locations I’ve used in the past have not worked out, but this one ought to do the trick.

    By the way, I was ordering two pounds of that Indian Maliali. Do you think that is enough?

  4. javajeb says:

    Sure! 2# is my normal purchase point.

Comments are closed.