Time

I was asked recently in a comment how we, as a family, and I individually, handle everything we do.  At least one part of that, for me, is planning.  I’ve come to rely heavily on my planner.  It’s my connection to my world, knowing what I have to do, what’s pending, when I have an appointment, etc.  Without it, I would likely go mad.  But sometimes with it, I still go mad.  That’s why, ever since I built my DW a planner, I’ve been chewing on how I use mine and how I could customize it.

In the process, I’ve gotten hooked into the DIY*Planner site, hanging out there, bouncing around ideas, etc.  It’s though the forums on DIYP that I developed the ‘vision’ to roll my own planner, just for me.  I guess it follows suit since I roast my own coffee, my DW makes all our bread from freshly ground flour, and we both have a hand at homemade granola.  So, why not a paper planner?

What I’ve been adapting is a Harvard Elite planner.  I’ve read a portion of David Allen’s “Getting Things Done“, but not all of it.  I read as far, and a bit beyond, what I found actually helpful.  So, I’ve implemented a bit of that into my Harvard.  I’ve not used everything in the Harvard, and have found myself wanting more flexibility with it.  So, the idea was born: build your own and use circa/rollabind discs!  So, after much pain and time, I’ve finally rolled it out.  You can look here for more info.  So, now I’m looking at printing, cutting and punching.  Then, disc it all up, ready for next year.

Solo Deo Gloria,

jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Life, the Universe and Everything, Paper and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Time

  1. Pingback: The Mechanics of a RYO Planner « Coffee Blog

  2. The rollabind discs are definitely the way to go. For lefties especially, they allow you to lay the binder completely flat on the table with no interference with your writing.

  3. javajeb says:

    Thanks for dropping by. While I’m not a leftie, there are many benefits of the circa/rollabind discs. It’s flexibility is what attracts me to it most.

  4. Gerald says:

    Jason, you are giving me too many things to read about! 🙂 I’m enjoying the reading, though. Of course, when I told my wife about the health benefits of freshly ground wheat, she said, “Oh no, I can see it coming. You are going to need a new grinder again, aren’t you?” But, of course! 🙂

    She was much more favorably impressed by your planner. I won’t tell you which planner we’ve been using (You might think us a heretic on the order of a Folger’s drinker. :-), but it’s not nearly as nice and versatile as yours. The planner you’ve put together is terrific! What a great idea those ceramic discs were! I think we both just might put those on our Christmas wish list.

  5. Gerald says:

    I’m still having internet connection problems. Connection will work for a few hours up to a couple of days before quitting on me. Every possible hardware problem that I can think of has been checked and replaced. Can only assume it is Windows Vista that is responsible somehow.

    I am able to re-connect by shutting down my computer and unplugging my modem. After a short wait, I turn everything back on and it works fine once again . . . for an indeterminate amount of time.

    Anyway, my real comment was that before I lost my connection, it appeared to me that your post on “Time” was MUCH longer than I remembered it being on Friday. Yet when I clicked back on it, it was once again a shorter post. Now I’m wondering if my mind is playing tricks on me? 🙂

    Anyway, I do appreciate all the new ideas I get from your blog. Just wish my computer would stay logged on to the internet longer so that I could actually finish reading some of these articles you’ve linked.

  6. javajeb says:

    The discs are plastic and work quite well. I’ve been printing out my recent Sunday School notes on Isaiah in a 5.5X8.5 format, punching and adding to a growing circa notebook. On a recent vacation, I took my old notes, plus a printout of the next chapters and pages for notes. Easy and convenient bible study!

Comments are closed.