Cooking and Coffee

Last night, I received my latest package from Sweet Maria’s.  Therein was one of the coffee’s I’ve been wanting to try: the India Mallali Estate “Tree-Dried Natural”.  Once the children were off to bed, I took the India and other coffees down for storage in the workshop.  I did a quick roast of the coffee of interest to Full City, probably just under 450F (thermometer placement isn’t yet ideal for measuring bean mass temp).

Other activities last night were cooking.  Two batches of an incredibly simple granola.  To make, preheat the oven to 400F.  Melt one stick of butter with 1/2c of honey.  In another bowl, add 4 cups rolled oats, 1 c slivered almonds and about 2/4-1c coconut.  Add in the honey butter liquid and stir until it’s all incorporated.  Spread on a jelly roll pan evenly and bake for 10 minutes.  At 10 minutes, carefully turn over in the pan and bake for up to 5 minutes more, or until it reaches the appropriate color.

In between batches, I made a load of Sweet Potato bread with freshly milled flour (hard red).  Wonderful stuff.  For the recipe, check out Father Dominic Garramone’s “Breaking Bread with Father Dominic 2”, page 11.  Good stuff!

So, there’s good eats and good coffee today.   I ground up the India Tree-Dried and brewed in the French Press, about 2-2.5 minutes.  The hot cup wasn’t too noteworthy; the cooling cup was like drinking a fine chocolate covered cherry blend.  Outstanding!

Grab some if you can.

Solo Deo Gloia,

jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Coffee and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Cooking and Coffee

  1. Gerald says:

    Menudo is somewhat bland and supposedly easy on the stomach. Some people around here think it’s great food to recover from a hang-over with.

    I’m with you on the Kopi Luwak. I wouldn’t turn it down if someone else offered me a cup, but I certainly wouldn’t spend that much money just to try it.

Comments are closed.