Coffee Travels

No, I had no great coffee house experiences over the weekend. Rather, it was the joy of traveling with family and the new favorite traveling coffee maker – the Aeropress.  It’s fast becoming my favorite travel brewer.  Paired with two jars of homeroast and my Zass Knee mill, I was good to go at the in-laws (my mother-in-law doesn’t drink much coffee, preferring MH Hazelnut).  I would drink a cup of her’s – deferential goodness of the son-in-law, then brew my nectar of homeroast.  Fast, easy, good brew = a favorite.

Now, I don’t tend to use the AP at home – the competition of trying to have quiet time and prayer, eat breakfast and feed the kids, the AP, like espress, makes it a bit difficult.  So, I stick with my Chemex or French Press for average daily use.  But for an upcoming trip week long trip, I may take it, but I may go for the SS FP.  Don’t know which yet.

On other ends, the trip was nice.  Central WV had the wonderful cool nights you expect in the fall, but enough sunlight and heat to make the days warm and enjoyable.  I even ended up with a bit of sunburn.  The street fair was fun – a 1 hour+ parade, rides for the kids, and some typical carny fair.  But, much to the chagrin of my wife, she couldn’t find the staple: Potato candy, which was odd seeing how this was a Potato Festival.  It’s usually there.  If you’re not familiar, it looks like these; semblance of a recepie here.  A good time was had by all.

Solo Deo Gloria,

jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Home Roasting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Coffee Travels

  1. Gerald says:

    Potato festival, eh? I wonder how it compares to the watermelon festival we have here?

    I have to say I had to laugh when I read the recipe for the potato candy. It called for 2 plus cups of sugar and a cup and a half of peanut butter, but only a tiny little bit of potato. Made me wonder how you could get away with calling it potato candy when that was the least ingredient? 🙂 Nevertheless, I wouldn’t mind trying that candy sometime.

    Sounds like you guys had fun and that’s a good thing.

    I’m starting to have fun again myself. Have been suffering with walking pneumonia for two weeks now and am just now coming out of my lethargy. I even feel like filling up your blog with comments once again, so look out! 🙂

  2. javajeb says:

    We had a good time, slight sunburn on the back of my bald head and ears. But it was good.

    I’m not sure about the recipe I linked to, but it’s probably different from what they make up in the mountains. After re-reading the recipe, it’s not right. This is more like it.

    Hope you’re feeling better!

    jason

  3. Gerald says:

    That sounds more like it! Well, at least it sounds more like a potato candy. Fairly easy to do also so I may just have to give that a try this weekend. If I do, I’ll report back.

Comments are closed.