Home Roasting Demo – Analysis

Well, Saturday’s came and gone.  For one hour, I spent time roasting in the heat of the day, covered a bit by shade while folks watched and we talked.  It was a good time.

I was scheduled to start just after lunch, at 1PM.  I arrived around 12:30, lugging all my gear to the site.  I was at a crossroads of sidewalks, where many passed by.  I had to run back home for my Chemex filters – once I had gotten about half  of the load to the site, I realized I had left them.  Luckily home isn’t too far.

Back on site, with the remainder lugged in, I had people waiting.  As I set things up, I was talking, answering questions, etc.  There were around 6-12 folks greatly interested in homeroasting and one who had actually tried it.

I took three roasted batches in a quart Mason jar with me; I roasted two on site.  While the first was roasting, I was describing the roast process, heat, changes, etc.  The ‘Pictorial Guide to the Roast Process’  from Tom was incredibly helpful in showing the process that was occurring in the depths of the popper.  After fielding a few questions, I started the water heating and started grinding in my vintage Cory.  The excitement grew.

Once the coffee had brewed, I gave each who wanted some about 4 ounces.  I warned folks that it may be stronger than they’re accustomed to, but there would be more flavor.  And they agreed!  Many were a bit taken aback by the ratio of coffee to water (2T/6oz), but they were impressed and liked it.  Hopefully, the notes that a few took will lead them down the path of home roasting, and to SweetMaria’s.

Solo Deo Gloria,

jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Home Roasting. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Home Roasting Demo – Analysis

  1. Gerald says:

    Congratulations! It sounds like a very successful demonstration. Sure hope you do get a few to give it a try themselves. It would be very nice to have a local group of roasters to share this exciting hobby.

    That 2 tablespoon per 6 ounces of water is the ratio I once used for a drip brewer. Occasionally drank it that way, but often added hot water after brewing to dilute to ‘drinking strength’. 🙂 Is that the ratio you use for all your methods of brewing or is it just for the Chemex (which is a sort of drip brewer, isn’t it)?

  2. javajeb says:

    I generally use in the ballpark of 2T/6oz. However, I must emphasize ‘ballpark’. I frequently use only the amount of grounds in the drawer of my Zass; I know via experience that what tastes best in a 8 T FP, for example, is around 1.5 to 2 drawers. Those aren’t heaping, but fairly level and in the standard Zass distribution pattern. I use the Chemex in much the same way. Initially, I measure and watch closely. Then, over time, I correlate the optimum to the amount in the drawer and drop the scoop after that optimum is found.

  3. Gerald says:

    LOL I understand. I’ve limited myself to 20 or 25 ounces of coffee per day for several months now. Because of that consistency, I can gauge how many tablespoons I’ve put into the hopper just by looking now. However, since I minored in Chemistry, I still measure the ground coffee most days because coffee-making is a chemistry experiment to some degree for me. When time is short, though, I just pour the unmeasured coffee into the press pot and add hot water. Haven’t made an undrinkable coffee yet! 🙂

    I’m curious about the location for your demonstration. I thought that someone had invited you to lecture at a public institution or something similar? Did I read between the lines a little too much this time?

  4. Pingback: Homeroasting Demo 2008 « Coffee Blog

Comments are closed.