The Aeropress, the Second Day

This morning I pulled out the AP again.  My taster’s a bit off, but it was still a nice brew.

I ground up a 3.5 day rested Ethiopian, dropped it in the AP and brewed with water, probably around 190-200F.  The grind was coarser than the first day.  Tom said that a too difficult press meant too fine a grind.  So, I drew back some, splitting the difference between my Chemex/FP and the initial grind, which was a bit coarser than an espresso grind.  This is all on  a Zass 169DG, so there’s no precision or numberings.

One of the comments Tuesday wondered about the quantity of ground coffee.  From my estimations comparing the AP scoop with a standard scoop, the AP holds roughly 1.5x to 1.75x more than a standard scoop.  Today, I brewed for 4 cups into a ceramic mug.  The mug was about 1/4 full with the extract.  I dropped it into my 16oz Nisan Travel Mug and filled.

The resulting coffee was a combination of some other methods, as best I can describe.  There was the smoothness of a Vac Pot; the body and the heaviness of a Moka Pot (somewhat diluted, of course).  Quite nice and drinkable.  The coffee is not too strong nor too weak.  There was a pleasing aftertaste and a wonderful smoothness in the cup.  Since there’s pressure involved, it’s most likely bringing out more of the flavor elements than are extracted from normal brewing procedures, resulting in the higher flavor content.

So far, it’s easy and I’m liking the result.

Solo Deo Gloria,

jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Brewing/Drinking, Coffee. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Aeropress, the Second Day

  1. Jan says:

    Good to know! I was doubting my ability to push it from that first report. And going into the winter months I am more prone to fix a cup in the evening when I start quilting for the night. Thanks for the update!!

  2. javajeb says:

    It makes it quite easy to make a single cup, which many of the manual brewers don’t do well. So, it would work well for that 7PM cuppa joe. Additionally, if you cook with coffee, you have your concentrate readily available.

  3. Gerald says:

    You brewed with water? And it turned out all right? Maybe I should try that! Okay, okay, I’ll stop giving you a hard time, but that did strike my funny bone this morning. 🙂

    I’ve been having troubles with my internet connection for a while and haven’t been able to get online for a couple of days now. Finally called the cable company and they told me that Vista users seem to have problems with that. Was told to shut down the computer and unplug the modem, wait 30 seconds, then start everything again. Should reset the modem and I’d be in business once again. And, as you can see, it worked. Hooray!

    I’m glad the Aeropress is making some good coffee for you. If I hear too many more descriptions like this one from you, I’ll be ordering my own fairly soon. I’m still not quite sure about the quantity of ground coffee to brewed coffee, though, but I’ll use your figures and go read about the AP on Tom’s site a little more. I’m sure I can figure it out eventually.

    I finished off the last of my roasted coffee this morning. Tomorrow morning I will roast, then brew immeditately. Will take notes on the coffee for a week.

  4. Gerald says:

    Immeditately? First I zing you, then I leave myself open for a return zinger. He who would zing others must himself be perfect. Right? And since none of us are perfect . . . .

    I’ll go drink some coffee now. 🙂

  5. Gerald says:

    I roasted about 10 oz of that Kenya Kariani this morning to a full city. Brewed a pot as soon as it was cool to go along with the breakfast tacos I also made. This coffee has such a pleasing aroma after grinding and also after brewing that you almost hate to drink it. I did, though, and it was very good! I think I mentioned something about this probably being the coffee Jesus would serve in Heaven. 🙂 Very satisfying and enjoyable to drink. It has such a smooth finish, a sweetness about it, that really distinguishes it from the run-of-the-mill commercial coffees and their aftertaste. This coffee is the kind that I would like to get some non-coffee drinkers to try because I think it is so different from the unpleasant tastes they associate with coffee that I believe they might become converts. The ones I know are adamantly convinced they don’t like coffee, though, and won’t even try. Very sad.

  6. javajeb says:

    Hummm. Must be a special Kenya. Most of the one’s I’ve had, and I haven’t had this one, require some rest to develop their characteristic citrus flavor element. Glad it was a good one.

    And yes, special coffee will convert folks. I’ve seen it with my own eyes!

Comments are closed.