AP, FP and Colombia

Well, according to the good ole UPS, my Aeropress, FP screen and Colombia beans for the roasting clinic are awaiting my home arrival!

A good day!

So here’s a coffee post Gerald!

Solo Deo Gloria,

jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Brewing/Drinking, Coffee, Roasting. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to AP, FP and Colombia

  1. javajeb says:

    First, on resting. It is totally dependent on the bean, in my experience. Some are fabulous right after roasting, then it’ll be two or three days later before they taste like anything better than mud. Experiment, keep good notes, and have fun!

    The Cory is fine – I use it for quick grinds and will likely take it next month to the demo. It has static issues at the finer grinds, so I keep it coarse, but it works well for Chemex or FP.

    And then the FP – I vary my grind, but probably go finer and shorter, but not as fine/short as Tom. I usually steep for 2.5 minutes, then press. So, my grind is finer, but not so fine as to need another filter or experience blowback. And speaking of press – look back later for an initial post on the AP!

  2. Gerald says:

    Yes! Keeping notes is one thing I really need to start doing.

    My FP coffee this morning was perhaps overextracted at 2 minutes brewing. May have the grind as fine as Tom uses now so tomorrow morning I will try a 90 second brewing. Unless I really like the result, I will probably go back to my usual grind size. This morning’s coffee reminded me too much of my moka pot (but it also pointed out to me what might be wrong with the coffee I’m getting from it–overextracted!)

    As for the Cory, I take it that it is not the last grinder you will ever need?

    And finally, you mentioned the Chemex. My wife’s parents tape a few shows for us occasionally (because we don’t have our television hooked up to cable or anything else). Last week, we were very surprised to see Rachael Ray making coffee in a Chemex pot! Now I’ve got to get one for myself so my coffee brewing equipment will be complete. Sort of. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. javajeb says:

    It’s never complete!

  4. Gerald says:

    Sadly, I know you are right. I’m even thinking I would like to buy duplicate equipment to leave at the church.

    Speaking of church, there is a small group in our church that must have their Folgers. Nothing else will do. And they buy it in those 3-lb containers that seem to last forever. Anyway, to demonstrate to them how long that coffee was actually sitting around getting stale, I marked each container with the date it was opened. That was on April 15 of this year. The containers are about 1/3 empty now so you can see that their coffee is probably going to be at least a year old before it’s gone. I don’t think they will care, but it’s interesting to me. ๐Ÿ™‚

Comments are closed.