Bodum’s Answer to the Aeropress?

If you’re not into coffee, the title probably doesn’t strike you, or else it does, and leaves you wondering.  I just hit Bodum’s site, and saw this.  It’s an ingenious, portable French Press setup that brews directly into a mug.  Fits any mug, they say.  Sounds a lot like the Aeropress.  To see how the Aeropress works, check this out (one of many vids on GV or YouTube).  I’ve been thinking about getting one, but we’ll see.  Now the Bodum has me thinking.  I’ve used Bodum for a while, but the ease of cleanup on the Aeropress is attractive.

Solo Deo Gloria,

jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Brewing/Drinking, Coffee. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bodum’s Answer to the Aeropress?

  1. serendipityquilting says:

    Interesting… I’ve yet to see an Aeropress locally, but would like to try it to just compare the tastes between the two. I agree, the clean up on a french press is what keeps me from using it more.

  2. Alan Adler says:

    Hello All,

    I invented the AeroPress.

    A major difference between the AeroPress and this press (and all French presses) is filtration. The coarse metal screen of French presses requires coarse ground coffee and long steep times. The AeroPress uses a paper microfilter with removes all particles from the brew. That permits fine ground coffee and very short wet times. The resulting brew has none of the grit found in French press brew. It also has one fifth the acid level of French press brew.

    The AeroPress can also make espresso-strength brew. For straight shots, or lattes.

    The brewing two approaches are very different.

    Sincerely yours,

    Alan

  3. javajeb says:

    Alan,
    Thanks for taking time to stop by. I’ve been pondering picking up an Aeropress to use at the office. My primary brewing is FP and Chemex, plus occasional Vac Pot or Moka Pot. The Aeropress is attractive for cleanup in an office and for travel as well.

    The one think holding me back is the filters. I don’t live where the filters are available locally and am not prone to ordering filters online. I’m able to pick up Chemex filters in my normal circuit of travel, but, to me knowledge, not the Aeropress. But the fact it comes with 350 helps mitigate the need for refills. The cost of new filters is minimal; I just hate shipping something like that.

    And the more I read, the more interested I am in the little guy. If I make the plunge, I’ll likely post some thoughts here.

Comments are closed.