Roasting and Surprises

Monday night, I finally got to my weekly roasting. I roasted the following:

Ethiopian FTO Yirgacheffe Oromia

Brazil Cachoeira da Grama Yellow Bourbon

Rwanda FTO Duhingekawa Women’s Co-Op

Mexico Oaxaca Pluma – Don Eduardo

Sumatra FTO Gayo Tanah Tinggi

I’ve had the Mexico, the Sumatra and today, the Rwanda. I’ve mentioned the Rwanda earlier – after a 5 day rest. This time, it was a three day rest. Definitely different. I’d say after this morning, I like the Rwanda on a shorter rest cycle. The shorter rest seemed to remove some of the citrus astringency, and holding a more rounded body. Tom described the body as ‘silky’, which after this morning, is appropriate.

The roast on the Rwanda was Full City, stopping at about 450F. Did the same for the Sumatra. The Mexico was a Full City roast, stopping around 440-445F. The Ethiopian and Brazil were both City roasts, finishing around 435F. Those I’m holding for a while.

Solo Deo Gloria,

jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Roasting and Surprises

  1. Gerald says:

    Hey Jason!

    Have you had time to form some opinions about these coffees?

  2. javajeb says:

    They’ve all been quite nice. The one I’m not too sure of now is the Mexico. The Ethiopia had the rustic elements I anticipated, but not he fabled blueberries. The Sumatra – quite nice, earthy elements, but not too heavy. Brazil – a wonderful, light coffee. Not the medium bodied version, but a more citrusy-leaning bean. And you see the Rwanda. Mexican coffees have been a bit challenging for me to get the optimum roast. The last I had I liked more towards FC. I’m not sure yet here.

  3. Gerald says:

    Thanks for the update! I’m very interested in getting at least three of those beans. I’ve managed to put off ordering new beans for two months now so my supply is finally getting low enough that I can justify it. (Well, almost anyway).

Comments are closed.