Coffee et al

While occupied with a few other tasks outside last night, it hit me that I needed to roast.  So, I tossed some Bolivia FTO SHG EP Caranavi  into the old popper, fed the dogs and came back and finished the roast.  Stopped it at about 435F, cooled and rested over night.  Nice cup this morning.  Haven’t been able to concentrate on the flavors that much, but very nice.  None of the grassy flavors one might expect from a short-rested light-roasted bean.

And as for the not noting the taste, it’s a bit difficult to concentrate now, after all that transpired a mere 130 miles west of here, just 50 miles from my ancestral home.  My hear goes out to all who are suffering, mourning, weeping over the deaths of friends, family, loved ones, of innocence lost.

Solo Deo Gloria,

jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Coffee, Life, the Universe and Everything. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Coffee et al

  1. Gerald says:

    Haven’t had time to comment in here much lately. Started to make a comment concerning the duel, but finally thought an email more appropriate–only to remember that I lost your email address with the computer failure (Finally retrieved it by searching the homeroast list)

    Did want to ask what you thought of the Bolivia with more rest. My sister-in-law is very interested in that particular coffee bean so we may be ordering it soon.

  2. javajeb says:

    Unfortunately, I roasted up the Bolivia for someone else and haven’t been able to ruminate over it too much. It was a nice, very smooth cup. If memory serves me correctly, I think it had some light fruity notes with chocolate hints. Maybe that’s where Tom’s Nutella observations fits in. I just ordered today, but Bolivia wasn’t one of them.

  3. Gerald says:

    Hmmmmm, so it was fairly nice but it didn’t make a big enough impression on you to cause you to want to order more? Is that about it? 🙂

    Thanks, that helps.

  4. javajeb says:

    Didn’t order more because I was missing some other regions. I ordered an Ethiopian, Yemeni, Brazil, Nicaragua, Sumatra and Mexico. I looked at the Centrals longingly, but didn’t grab any. It sounds like we won’t see much outside of Kenya for a while with the political instability there. But I’m also trying to find a good, even cup for the roasting class in September (the Brazil).

  5. Gerald says:

    I see. So, you think shipments of Kenyan beans are in jeopardy? That’s too bad in a lot of ways.

    I am about to finish off the last of my Mexico Nayarit (roasted half of it to City plus and half to Full City) so I will be interested in more coffee from Mexico soon. I look forward to hearing what you think of the one you ordered.

    I am also interested in what you think of the Brazil (no matter which one it is).

    I hope you find a good bean for September, but if your current lot doesn’t shine, I can suggest the Guatemala Finca Agua Tibia (not only do I like it, but nearly everyone I’ve given it to likes it also. Not as exotic as the Yirgacheffes and the Sumatrans, but still a very good coffee that apparently pleases a wide range of palates.)

  6. javajeb says:

    No – seems like it’s just Uganda and Tanzania. Political troubles. IIRC, the fellow who runs the Tanzanian farm where Tom gets the beans is a vocal opponent of Mgubae, and had to flee due to his opposition. Not sure. It’s in an HR email from Tom.

Comments are closed.