Coffee and Worldview

This morning, I sit sipping on a nice cup of 36 hour rested PNG Kimel Plantation Peaberry roasted to about 435-440F on Sunday evening. It could use more rest – there is a nice flavor to the bean: I’m finding the maltiness, but little else. As the beans rest stretches out, it should exhibit more of the flavors noted in the review. Now, once the malt flavor passes, you have very little flavor present. It’s still a nice coffee, but not stellar.

On another note, I was looking at my google feeds this morning and saw an interesting one from Adrian Warnock on the importance of stories in the development/change of worldview. The entry is actually by Andrew Fountain. Go read it or listen.  Andrew has a nice and compelling argument, that we, the followers of Christ in the 21st Century, have lost our Biblical understanding of scripture.  We don’t know the stories in the way we should – a Biblical Theology in story.  Not going to nitpick about things – overall good.

For more on storytelling and some exciting news, check an old seminary mate’s sit.

Solo Deo Gloria,

jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Bible, Coffee, Life, the Universe and Everything. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Coffee and Worldview

  1. Gerald says:

    Fascinating reading, Jason. I enjoyed reading and listening to the links you provided, but it is always interesting how God brings things to the attention of His people. While pursuing the links you gave, I also found one for an article/sermon John Piper did on how he heard from God one morning. As this is the very topic my small group is learning about right now, I immediately went to that article and read it thoroughly. Piper confirmed and emphasized what we are learning so I copied his article and sent it out to the Bible study members I have email addresses for.

    Your old seminary mate’s (Jeremy)exciting news was also very interesting reading. I’ll send an email to explain why. (I’ll have to say, though, they have some unusual names in their family.)

  2. Gerald says:

    I’ve been having trouble making coffee in the vac pot since I got the new grinder. Brew process keeps stalling out in the upper chamber. Resulting coffee is not very good. This morning, though, I finally found a setting that allowed the coffee to pass through the filter in good time. The coffee, an Ethiopian wet process Sidamo de-caf was excellent! (My wife is drinking de-caf coffee and de-caf hot teas for breakfast occasionally. Rather than brew a separate pot for myself, I drink de-caf with her.) This Sidamo is a great de-caf, too so I don’t mind a bit. 🙂

  3. javajeb says:

    Gerald,
    I can’t recall – what type of vac pot? In my opinion, the vac is one of the most deceptively easy brews to make. It’s the easiest to screw up, the best coffee you can make when it’s done right.

    I pulled out my cory a few weeks ago. Great cup. I still don’t use it enough to be able to have highly reproducible cups. Great fun anyway.

  4. Gerald says:

    Jason, I use the Yama 8-cup vacuum pot. The grind setting that worked for me this morning was a 3 1/2 on the Pro Line. That’s getting very close to the same setting I use for the French press so it’s a fairly coarse grind.

    Jason, I am enjoying all of the coffees in my stash that Tom recommends roasting to a city or city + level much more now that I let them rest at least three days. That rest seems to tone down the brightness and let some of the other flavors come alive. Thanks for the tip that lightly roasted coffees needed a longer rest than the more darkly roasted. It has helped me decide several times which coffee to roast depending on how quickly I needed to be able to drink it. 🙂

Comments are closed.