Opportunity Blends

This morning, I pulled out my roast log, looked at my jars and realized I must blend.  So this morning’s blend was a mix of Tanzania Mount Meru Nkoanekoli and a bit of a Mexico Organic Nayarit Terruno.  Wonderfully sweet.  Both were well rested (9 days).  The Tanzania was roasted to about 440F – City+/Full City.  The Mexico to a City/City+ (435F?).  There were some hints of honey-sweetness and a nice earth-African aftertaste.  Quite nice.  I may have to try a repetition of this, or something similar.

Solo Deo Gloria,

jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Blending, Home Roasting. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Opportunity Blends

  1. Gerald says:

    Certainly sounds good! But if you’re having to blend on a Tuesday, that must mean you didn’t get to roast on Saturday! Have you enough leftovers to continue blending the rest of the week? I would hate to think you might run out of fresh roast! 🙂

  2. javajeb says:

    My coffee was roasted last Monday. The weekend ended up too crazy for roasting. I’ll likely roast tomorrow evening, if I can. Working on painting while there are no little ones to breath the fumes.

  3. Gerald says:

    Painting, eh? That’s what I did last week! Painted Bailey’s room in princess colors, put up some princess wall stickers, a canopy over her bed, new curtains, new sheets and comforter, and so forth and so on. Still have a few touches left, but will wait until the next paycheck for those. 🙂

  4. T. Chris says:

    Jason,

    I’m still confused about “resting.” I am by no means an expert on coffee roasting. When I first started roasting I thought that I read somewhere that coffee should rest for 6-8 hours after roasting so that all the gases release. But you mention your coffee resting for nine days. Please educate me. What is the best resting time? When is coffee at its peak time for drinking?

  5. javajeb says:

    Resting is difference for every coffee. Ideally, a coffee will reach premium taste within 3-5 days after rest. There are exceptions, however. A nice Uganda develops its flavor very quickly (~12hrs). An Ethiopian may take a full 5 days, as would most Kenyas. A good way to tell is roast enough of a single bean to take you through five or six days, drinking some each day (maybe small quantities to stretch). Note the flavors each day; usually you will find an explosion of flavors, like what Tom mentions in his coffee profiles. That’s when you find the sweet spot, the ideal rest.

    HTH,
    jason

Comments are closed.