Christmas Catchup

Well, Christmas is past (unless you celebrate Orthodox Christmas – then it’s 3more days!), the new year upon us and I’m chugging away. The Christmas break was nice and relaxing – a time for fellowship with family, worship at church, and work on a new class at church. That’s all for that now.

I did enjoy some nice coffee while off. The Congo Kivu, with a good rest, is some nice coffee. Any earlier, it was too funky and earthy. Not the good, Sumatran earthy, but more like you face planted in some moss. Nice stuff.

I also did some reading, namely in the book Square Foot Gardening.” It’s really piqued my interest as we plan our garden for this year. We started with raised beds last year, so we’ll easily adapt those to the square foot method. And that method, it’s not some cultish practice of gardening, it’s maximizing diversity and harvest on a minimum of land to reduce soil wearing and wasting of plants and seeds. So, we’ll see how it works for us. The best part is that it should be much less work than a conventional garden. Looking forward.

Solo Deo Gloria,

jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Coffee, Home. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Christmas Catchup

  1. javajeb says:

    Not yet. There’s some small garden shops here where I hope to find some coarse vermiculite, which is what the book recommends. I’ll try to let you know if I locate any – maybe it’d help you as well.

    Our garden list is as follows:
    tomatoes (cherry, roma, and heirloom), peas, beets, green beans, potatoes (red, white and sweet), bell and hot peppers, garlic, onions, pumpkins, zucchini, lettuce, carrots, and yellow summer squash. Then some herbs as well.

  2. T. Chris says:

    Wow, that’s a good list!

    How many 4 by 4’s do you think you’ll need?

  3. javajeb says:

    I currently have one 4×4 of strawberries. My other bed is 12×8, and I’m going to build an additional 4×4. With the rotation involved, I’m hoping that will suffice – still trying to map it out with respect to growing time, sun, etc. So, that equates to 13 4x4s. We’ll see.

    Jason

  4. javajeb says:

    Gerald – my gardening last year was in raised beds all by hand. So, on the work load, I’m only anticipating the increased work load of more square footage. That is if I can reclaim enough water to keep things going during the traditionally dry late summer here. Last year, we went without rain from the first of July until September. All the squash dried up on the vine.

    Jason

Comments are closed.