Roasting, Repairs

Well, I got my last coffee order in yesterday. It contained a visually perplexing box, holding my replacement beaker/carafe for the Bodum Chambord. Three years is a long while to have one without a break. Not a great loss; I have almost too many ways to make coffee.

What I was really excited to receive was the Congo Kivu Peaberry. Since I’ve been roasting, I’ve heard mention of Congo beans, but they’re a rarity. Seems that the relative political stability of Central Africa, difficult travel infrastructure, and heat mix to ruin some great beans, but some good beans finally got out of Africa in good shape. And hopefully, I’ll be able to roast some up tonight. And based on the chatter on the Homeroast list, I’m betting it’s going to be a good one.

On another note, Friday, I had a 6 day rested Sumatra Organic Gayo Mountain brewed in a Chemex. We had taken a day trip, and while driving, I took a sip from my travel mug. Wow! The flavor of a fine Burbon hit me – reminiscent of a tour we once took of Buffalo Trace Distillery in Frankfort, KY. I’ve never had that flavor out of a Sumatra before, but man, was it nice! The wonders of coffee!

Solo Deo Gloria,

jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Coffee. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Roasting, Repairs

  1. Gerald says:

    Jason, how do you order your coffee beans? Do you get 1-pound bags? Or 2-pound? 5-pound? Do you always fill up a Harvey box?

    Have you got some of the Congo Kivu resting?

    Reading this post has reminded me that I intended to consult with you before making my next order from Sweet Maria’s. I didn’t do that, I’m afraid. I think I must have been too intent on getting beans to re-create Nancy’s Zigzag blend.

    My most exotic purchase this time around was a Sumatran Classic Mandheling. 🙂

  2. javajeb says:

    I order 2# bags, usually no more than 4 at a time. And I generally order every other month, keeping a minimal ‘stash’ and trying to keep up on the new stuff. 1# bags don’t give me a chance to really figure out a coffee, and I usually don’t go to the 5#, except for some decafs I’ve roasted for someone else.

    I roasted two batches of Kivu on Tuesday night, one to FC, one a little beyond. Brewed a Chemex on Wednesday, funky and needing more rest. I plan on trying the FC+ on Saturday morning. But there was some good promise there! Any Sumatra, on the other hand, is good to me.

  3. Gerald says:

    Thanks for the info!

    My last four Harvey orders I’ve gotten two 5-pound bags of coffee I was sure I’d like, and one 2-pound bag of one I wanted to try. Limits the new ones you can try a bit, but gives me a good supply of coffee that I can give and sell to friends. At least, I hope I can keep selling. If not, I already have all the coffee I’ll need for 2007 in my stash. 🙂

Comments are closed.