Anticipation

Waiting is excruciating. It’s like I’m a child again, waiting for Christmas morning. But now, it’s waiting until tomorrow morning to destroy the beans – to grind them to tiny little bits. What beans, you ask? The Nicaragua Prodecoop Dipilito, which I wrote about yesterday. My stash made it from Oakland to southside VA in 3 days, and my heart was light as I arrived home and saw the familiar logo on the box: Sweet Maria’s. Now, tomorrow, it’s a bit of a rush, but I will grind and drink, looking for the taste, the hint of what these are, where they belong in the roast, how best to present them on Saturday morning. And then, tomorrow evening, more roasting in prep for Saturday, and to provide for my own habit.

Solo Deo Gloria,

jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Brewing/Drinking, Coffee, Roasting. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Anticipation

  1. javajeb says:

    I’ll have one full pound available. And after that, we can revert to other stuff, like drech. Should prove to be an example to some. But I won’t have time to do more than 1 pound, maybe 1.5 pounds. I don’t know how many drink coffee either, but I know not all. Our church is pretty heavy with little ones! 🙂

  2. Gerald says:

    Little ones, eh? Great! Then there’s hope for the future!

    Our church is full of little ones, too, but a number of them drink (or want to drink) coffee more than their parents do. We have a lot of weekend coffee drinkers in our church. Something I don’t understand at all. Of course, this IS Texas and some people don’t want a hot drink in our hot climate.

  3. Gerald says:

    I don’t know about you, but I’ve learned a little more about storing coffee this week. The discussion of mason jar storage showed me that I might be missing a trick or two. For the near future, I’m going to let my fresh roast sit in the mason jars with the lids and rings simply sitting on top for 24 hours. Only then will I screw the lids tightly. We’ll see how that works out.

Comments are closed.