Coffee for Pastor’s Appreciation Breakfast

This coming Saturday, our church is having a Pastor’s Appreciation breakfast.  So, being the snob that I am, I offered to make coffee.  I then quickly dispatched an email to the Homeroaster’s list for some crowd pleasers and then ordered.  I’m awaiting arrival of the greens, to roast and sample.  One’s completely new: Nicaragua Prodecoop Dipilito.  Tom’s notes mention a sweet, caramel to berry flavor with citrus hints.  Nice and light for breakfast.  The second I plan to roast is a favorite of mine: Uganda Organic Bugisu.  Tom notes a “rustic fruited character”; I can’t recall now, but I know it’s good.

So, I’ll roast mid week and have some well rested beans.  Brewing in the Chemex and dispensing into a double lined thermal carafe.  The logistics will be a bit tough, so I’m going to <gasp>pregrind some</gasp>, probably early that morning.  That way, I’ll have enough for a couple of pots and can catch up on grinding with a Zass in between.   Hopefully, someone will step up and help with the second Zass.

Solo Deo Gloria,

Jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Brewing/Drinking, Coffee, FBF. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Coffee for Pastor’s Appreciation Breakfast

  1. Gerald says:

    Wow! That’s a beautiful grinder! I can see why some people want them simply to place on a shelf and look pretty.

    The Chemex is next on my list of coffee brewers. Hopefully, I will remember what you said about grind size when I get it. I’d also like to get one of those Krups Moka brewers if I can be so lucky as to find one at a “Tuesday Morning” store.

    Did you get the hand-blown glass Chemex?

    By the way, I’ve got my brother coming over for supper tonight. He says he’s interested in getting a French press and a grinder like mine. Tonight, I’m also hoping to persuade him to give home roasting a try. Wish me luck! 🙂

  2. javajeb says:

    Yes, good luck. I’ve ‘converted’ a fellow church member. He told me this weekend, after the Chemex, he can’t drink coffee with milk and sugar. It’s either good, or worthless – can’t dress it up.

    I have a machine made Chemex. Works the same, probably a bit lighter glass though. No problems yet. Good luck with a KMB. That’s one I’ve never been enticed to, yet.

  3. Gerald says:

    He’s right!

    I’ve got my fingers crossed for tonight. We’ve always had similar tastes and interests, but David has never gone to the “extremes” that I did. We both took up tennis in high school, but I was the one to join the team and play in lots of tournaments during, and after, high school. We also took up chess together in high school, but again I was the one to join the chess club and enter tournaments. Same thing with running after college. Hmmmm, this may take more doing that I thought. But at least it’s a non-competetive sort of thing.

    Another (non-coffee drinking) friend of mine also suggested that I try to get my brother-in-law interested as well. He and his wife have just bought their first house and are now living only 36 miles away–much easier for me to get coffee to them–but he also has a great place to roast his own coffee. I think a road trip with all my roasting paraphernalia is in order.

    As for the KMB, I don’t know if I will like it or not, either. Would like to try it out, though. If I don’t like it, I’m hoping I can get my money back from one of the list members.

  4. javajeb says:

    From recent comments, I’m sure you could recoup some of your costs.

  5. Pingback: Coffee Blog

  6. Pingback: Coffee Blog

Comments are closed.