Simple Dressing

Last night’s dinner, fish and some deviled crab for the bride and I, had the consistent side dish, cole slaw. I was tagged as the DDM – designated dressing maker. So, I plied my hand to the task, mixing the elixir of apple cider vinegar, mayonnaise and sugar. The same way I was taught by my father, by his mother, by her mother. Four generations, and I had that definite sense last night, of history, as I mixed the blend. It’s so simple, but never the same. It’s an old time recipe – mix to taste, depending on taste and mood. I’m also convinced that something else could be added to honor the flavor, to enhance, even invigorate anew the tradition. Nevertheless, it is a wonderful and fitting dressing for the noble and delicious slaw.

Solo Deo Gloria,

Jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Simple Dressing

  1. Gerald says:

    Interesting that you used “apple cider vinegar” because I’ve just found a pamphlet that once belonged to my parents which expounds on the suppose-ed health benefits of vinegar in general, and apple cider vinegar, in particular. I don’t know if I buy all the claims it makes for vinegar, but it has certainly made me more aware of the different kinds of vinegar and the ways I might make use of them. Like your cole slaw recipe, for instance. 🙂

  2. javajeb says:

    Maybe it’s geographical. I’ve always had both apple cider vinegar and white vinegar around. Back home, they actually used to sell something called Jogging in a Jug that was supposed to help with arthritis, due largely to it’s containing vinegar. You can see a sample recipe here:
    http://www.recipesource.com/side-dishes/beverages/01/rec0113.html

  3. Gerald says:

    Yes, arthritis is one of the things vinegar will help, according to that pamphlet.

    We have always had vinegar, too. Pickled cucumbers, and jalapenos, and picalili. Often served various vegetables fresh from the garden in a bowl of vinegar as a side dish.

    My mother-in-law saw a program on the telly a while back in which they stated that if you had problems with ants in your house, you could wipe down your counter tops, your cabinets, shelves or whatever with vinegar and your ant problem would go away. She called us to tell us about it because we had been battling ants in the house for six years. We’d tried everything on the market, but nothing worked completely. We tried the vinegar five weeks ago and have not had any ants since then. It is one benefit of vinegar to which I can definitely attest!

Comments are closed.