Marinade

I recently noticed this blog and thought I’d share a nice marinade I tried this week.  I don’t have the exact proportions before me, but it contained 12 ounces of stout, about 1/2 c of honey mustard, 1/4 or 1/2 chopped onion, caraway seeds and 3 cloves of garlic, minced.  I soaked four steaks for about 24 hours, and then grilled them over gas.  Missed the directions, so my brush on wasn’t thick enough.  I should have removed the meat and reduced the marinade by half over medium heat and used the result as a glaze.  Brushing on a liquid isn’t as effective, but it was a nice hunk of meat.  Rather sweet, but the caraway and stout combination was excellent.  Enjoy!  If you want more, let me know and I can grab the exact recipe.

Solo Deo Gloria,

Jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Home and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Marinade

  1. Scott says:

    Thanks for the mention, I appreciate it. This is one marinade I will try. I haven’t done anything with caraway seeds, but the stout I am acquainted with. It sounds wonderful.

  2. javajeb says:

    Scott,
    To make it a bit more precise, it’s 1 12oz stout, 1/2c chopped onion, 1/4 c honey musteard, 3 cloves minced garlic and 1 teaspoon of caraway seeds. That’s good for 1 3/4 lb meat, namely beef, pork, lamb, or poultry. I used it for beef and greatly enjoyed it. It’s from this book that we’ve greatly enjoyed for a while.

    Jason

  3. Gerald says:

    Labor Day weekend might be a good opportunity for me to try that marinade. Thanks for sharing it!
    Gerald

  4. javajeb says:

    Let me know how it goes. BTW, if you do much grilling, the cookbook is a great resource.

    Jason

Comments are closed.