Flannery O’Conner and Isaiah 6

Kyra over at “We read to know we’re not alone”, mentioned my post on Flannery O’Conner here: “We read to know we’re not alone”: Flannery O’Conner. Her post got me to thinking about what comes next in Isaiah in my not-so-regular preaching schedule. Right now, it looks like I’ll have two, maybe three sermons on Isaiah 5, then to the glorious vision in Isaiah 6. Instead of thinking of what comes next, I find myself wanting to fast forward to the beauty of Isaiah 6, but I must find patience and discipline. I must go through Isaiah 5 to get to 6. I must go through Isaiah 5 to get to 6. I must go through Isaiah 5 to get to 6.

OK. I think I have it now. But, back to what I was saying. Kyra’s post made me think that Flannery O’Connor might just be the perfect story braid to mesh in with Isaiah 6. I’ll have to find the right story, but I think I can do it. I’ve been able to braid a story into a sermon before, from beginning to end, and it seems to convey the message of God’s word well. After all, some of Jesus’ most effectual and pointed teachings were in story. We live a story. So, I’ll have to keep reading through her Complete Stories. I have it from the library until late October. Maybe by then, I can finish it. When four comes, I will likely not be able to read much at all. So, plough through now! I’ve completed half of Credenda’s estimation of her best, so I suppose I’m on my way.
Solo Deo Gloria,

Jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Bible, Proclamation, Reading and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.