The Perfect Cup?

Or, at least one you enjoy.

There are many, more thorough guides, but, for a friend, I’m going to list a few guidelines for starting out.

1) Fresh, whole beans, less than two weeks old. Here, in our small town of about 5,000, we now have a coffee roasting business. So, they’re a source. If you can’t do that, check out Sweet Marias. With a good, heavy wok and a gas (preferably outside) burner, you’re golden. Electric with a strong, overhead exhaust fan is possible, but I’d look for an outdoor solution.

2) Grind only as much as needed, only when needed.

3) Fresh cold water will yeild the best cup.  See this for a good summary of water issues.
4) For simple brewing, try a Chemex. If a Chemex and paper filter isn’t for you, try a French Press. Either will provide a good cup of coffee. A Chemex can produce good coffee with a whirly blade grinder; a French Press, on the other hand, will more easily produce good coffee with a burr grinder (which produces a more consistent grind).

5) Steeping: see the appropriate guides at SM’s. Here, you can find a wealth of information on how to use brewing devices, roasters (commercial and other wise), etc. Not only is Sweet Maria’s a great place to buy beans, they’re about the best source of coffee information out there.

Enjoy the cup!

Solo Deo Gloria,
jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Coffee. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Perfect Cup?

  1. Gerald says:

    A vacuum pot is also a good choice. Though I love our French press, my wife doesn’t like the “mud” it often leaves at the bottom of a cup. Because of that, most of the coffee we drink is from the vacuum pot. It makes such good coffee that I don’t complain. Well, not much anyway. 🙂

  2. javajeb says:

    Gerald,
    I wholeheartedly agree and thanks for reminding me of my oversight.. There is nothing better than a Vac Pot. I’ve been playing with a Vac for about 1-2 years. While it’s a great cup, I would not recommend for a newbie, using store bought pre-ground and an off the shelf Auto-Drech Maker.

    jason

  3. Two other tips..
    Always used filtered water.

    Permanent Gold Filters will not taint the taste of coffee like paper does, and will give you a more French Press like cup without the proverbial mud.

    Great post!

  4. javajeb says:

    Brother o’ da bean,
    Thanks. I always forget the filtered water. I have a pretty decent well for water, though I’ve never checked it, as recommended by Jim’s Water FAQ.

    Regarding the Gold filters, for which method are you advocating these? I’ve used them in the past for ADC, but don’t usually touch that now. Or at least until I spring for a TV.

    jason

Comments are closed.