Creating a Family Heritage

Last Friday, my bride and I went to the HEAV (HomeSchool Education Association of Virginia) Annual Conference in Richmond. I attended a workshop entitled “Principles for Principals”, hosted by Scott Sommerville of the HSLDA. One of the many valuable things he mentioned was teaching your children of their heritage, what it means to be, for him, a Sommerville. After having lost all of our grandparents and my father, my bride and I discussed this over a quiet dinner. In order to capture the stories and preserve them, I’m going to pick up one of these, an Everyman’s Journal, from the good folks who brought me my ever used planner-logbook combo. It’s not too much, is darn close to archival quality, and I’m a sucker for a well-made journal. It will hold our collective memories, for our children to peruse and chew on. And after working in IT for the past 8 years, I know better than to use a PC for keeping something permanently!

Solo Deo Gloria,
jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Genealogy, Homeschooling. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Creating a Family Heritage

  1. T. Chris says:

    Great idea!

    Do you have a system for recording the memories?

  2. javajeb says:

    Not really. My plan is to kinda chapterize it with entries for a single individual, preceeded with Name, dates and relationship. Then the story/account. The difficult part for me will be getting the stories back and in print since so many are now gone.

    jason

  3. Pingback: Coffee Blog » Blog Archive » A Sample Entry

Comments are closed.