Blueberry Surprise!

Three days ago, I roasted three batches of beans: a Guatemala, something else and an Ethiopian. Namely, this Ethiopian, the Dry-Process Ghimbi. I was shooting for a Full City roast, no second crack. I roast in my workshop, and something else had my attention, and the next thing I knew, I had a rolling second on my hands. I quickly dumped the contents of my popper into the colander and placed on the fan. Oil everywhere. I almost pitched them, figuring them to be beyond hope. But, alas, I didn’t.

This morning, I cracked open the jelly jar and the aroma almost knocked me over. I ground for the Chemex in my Zass and brewed about 32 ounces. Filled my travel cup and one to drink while readying for work. Got about half of the one down, refilled and brought it along for the ride into work. The initial flavor was a rich, almost syrupy sweet blueberry. Nice! As it cooled to lukewarm, I got hints of oak, like the oak/tanin flavor of a fine Kentucky bourbon. Wonderful! Too bad that’s the last full roast I have of the precious. Wonders of coffee never cease. And thank you my sweet. That was the sweetest bean in the birthday pack. An absolute joy!

Solo Deo Gloria,
jason

About javajeb

Full time dad and IT guy. Part-time preacher/teacher. Full-time follower of Christ.
This entry was posted in Coffee. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blueberry Surprise!

  1. T. Chris says:

    Sounds yummy.

    Did you get these beans from Sweet Maria’s?

  2. javajeb says:

    Yep. They were from a SM’s sampler my wife bought for my birthday. Unfortunately, I have no more. I have some other Ethiopians, but none that will handle the heat of this one. Makes you want to keep a hoarded stash to enjoy all those magnificant beans at will, even if SM’s is out.

    jason

  3. Have you ever tried the Kowali Farm Typica that Sweet Maria’s carries? I really am finding myself enjoying it.

  4. javajeb says:

    Is that one of the Indonesians? I may have had it, but I’m not sure now. I’d have to look back through my log books. If I see it next order I make, I’ll try some.

    Thanks!

Comments are closed.